upgrading my pc: any suggestions? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to willjoe325
Default upgrading my pc: any suggestions?

Hi! I bought Battlefield 2 a couple of days ago, although it wouldn't run on my current system. I built my computer myself. It has:

AMD athlon 2600 1.9ghz
Powercolor radeon 9200
512 mb ddr ram
120 gb hard drive
asus motherboard

I was thinking of upgrading my processor, graphics card, and motherboard to:

AMD 64 bit processor
New motherboard to accomodate it
New graphics card- I was thinking an X700 pci express card

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thanks
__________________

willjoe325 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

An AMD 64 would be a good step, but how fast?

DFI motherboard is good for overclocking.

If you're planning to get a pci-e gpu, then you obviously want a mobo that can support it. You may then also need a new PSU, but that all depends upon your current one.

I would go with a 6800 GT though if you can afford it. It works perfectly with 64 bots on my computer (note that 64 bots is well beyond the supported limit, requiring much more power). If that's too expensive, well, the 6600 GT will run fantastic with toned down settings.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Graphics card is the only thing holding you back, but I would also go for a gig of ram as well
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well really we need to know how much money u have to spend and want ot spend on this thing and it looks like u need a new computer all together. But u need new mobo 939 socket with pci-e16x and then ull need at least 512 try for a gig but then ull want a 6600gt or if u have the $ get 6800gt
about 3200 for the amd but 300 at the least
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to willjoe325
Default

I plan to spend around 500 dollars for a graphics card, processor, and motherboard
willjoe325 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Gar.

You could get a 3200+ Venice for around $190.
An SLI motherboard would be around $180 let's say.
A 6800 GT PCI-E would be around $360.
A 6600 GT is around $160.

I think that 6600 GT would suit your budget perfectly.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

There are only two things you need for your upgrade. 6800GT AGP, which costs around 280, and 512 more mb of ram. Other than that, your fine.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
There are only two things you need for your upgrade. 6800GT AGP, which costs around 280, and 512 more mb of ram. Other than that, your fine.
He won't be playing BF2 on a 2600+.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Why not on a 2600+?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Do what you were planning on doing, except get a 6600 GT graphics card instead of an X700 Pro. Much better performance in the same price range. BF2 is a pretty demanding game. I would get at least 1GB of RAM as well. 512MB is not quite enough for that game, its the most memory intensive game I've ever seen.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.