upgrading my laptop graphics card/ram/processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2005, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123
Default upgrading my laptop graphics card/ram/processor?

I know i would be better off purchasing a desktop, but i like the convenience of a laptop. I currently have an ati mobility 9600 with 512mb of ram, 3.0ghz p4 ht. I think my laptop graphics card is upgradable, but i do not know for sure, or what to get or where to get it. mobility 9700s go for around $100 on ebay, but i dont know if that would be enough of an upgrade. Also, i havent found a place that sells the mobility 9800 or x800. Last question: is it possible to upgrade my p4 to amd64? they sell a 3400+ for laptops at newegg. any help would be greatly appreciated.

the drizzle is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

the difference between the 9600 and 9700 is very small and def not worth the $100. no you wont be able to upgrade from the p4 to the amd cos they wil be different sockets.

AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123

thank you. but would the change to the 256mb radeon 6800 or x800 be worth it? also, where would i purchase one?
the drizzle is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720

It's not worth it, you really only need 128mb for video, if that. I'm running on 64 and it's fine. You only need more unless you play graphic-intense games.
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 05:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123

youre saying the upgrade to 256mb wouldnt be worth it? i can currently play farcry, doom 3, and hl2 on my comp, but there is occasional slowdown in doom 3, and i cant run anything past medium quality.
the drizzle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.