upgrading my cpu soon. or should i not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default upgrading my cpu soon. or should i not?

i have a athlon 2500 and i want to upgrade how big of performance difference would i get if i upgraded to http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116178
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

That would be a downgrade.

The 2500 is roughly equal to a 2.5GHz Intel. A 2000 is equal to a 2.0. A 3000 is equal to a 3.0.

All of these are minimum, as the AMD's usually surpass the Intels.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You want a peformance DECREASE lol?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Not only that, you would need other parts as well if you're currently an AMD.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

no offense but i really really do not recommend intel.... as far as what u do i dont know but stay with amd man ull thank me later. =]
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

I WOULD BE DOWN GRADING? I THOGHT GHZ COUNTS THE CPU IS 2.4 GHZ AND 1MB L2 CACHE AND MY CPU IS 1.8 GHZ 512KB CACHE YES I KNOW I DO NEED TO UPGRADE OTHER STUFF BUT IM ALREADY UPGRADING MY MEMORY TO 400MHZ DUAL CHANNEL AND MY VIDEO CARD TO A EVGA 6800. AMD IS STRONGER THAN INTEL HOW?
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

OH I MEAN MY MEMORY IS GOING TO BE 1GIG DUALCHANNEL 400MHZ LOL
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well then what should i upgrade my athlon 2500 to? 3200? would bringing it to 3200 be worth it? or should i go with like 3000 64 venice core and overclock. im not sure what do u guys think i should upgrade to? around 130$$
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

please don't use cap locks gives me a headache.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

first off....slooooooow doooooooown

second off....for 130 bucks are you talking about ONLY the processor?
processor, the venice runs just over $140, but that would also require you to buy a new mobo because of the 64 bit technology.

the 3200+ soket a woudln't be a bad choice. it's definetally better than your 2500 you currently have, though the socket A technology is starting to decay faster now. but, you wouldn't have to buy a new mobo (assuming it support it already), but since you have mentioned what kind of mobo you have, i can't help you there.
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.