Upgrading my Computer, Need help choosing Hardware - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2005, 07:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Wait replace or just get better stuff? I was thinking getting 512 more so I'd have 1280 total.

I just re-configured my list according to the help I've gotten and I'll post in a few minutes.
__________________

WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 07:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

Definately get the PCI-E 6600GT by eVGA. 512mb is bare minimum I would get if building a new rig. You should get 1gig of PC-3200. As for the processor, if you are gaming the AMD64 3000+ will be good, will OC good also. But if you can afford get the 3200+ so get a x10 multiplier.

Edit: Also, don't make the mistake I did and settle for a ****ty PSU. As you see in my rig, I have good parts but they have no OC potential right now due to the fact that my PSU can't deliver them the power needed.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Ok so I'm looking at getting...

-Corsair Valueselect RAM (2 x 512) KEEP IN MIND I already have 768 of ram

-AMD 64 3200+ Winchester Socket 939

-eVga 6600gt 128 mb PCI-X

-MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum Ultra chipset Socket 939


As you can see I'm heavily relying on your guys' input so PLEASE try and give me the most unbiased opinions possible.

EDIT: Well I've got a 450w PSU right now that came with my Broadway case:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...162-012&depa=1
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

What is the current speed of your memory?

First of all, 1024mb is a perfect amount right now, you don't need any more, or any less. In reality, having too much RAM can actually slow down performance of a system because your system has to account for more memory.

Also, if you are buying PC3200 and have lower speed memory, the faster memory will be underclocked to the slower memory which makes the faster memory pretty much a waste of memory.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

that psu prob sucks bad... and 6800gt 128mb? do u mean 6600gt?
Echo_ is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

That psu is merely ok. 18A on the +12v rail. Better than mine with 12A on the +12v rail. Yea, think you meant 6600gt and not 6800gt. If you did mean 6800gt get 256mb GDDR3 not 128mb version.
__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Whoops..yeah it's 6600. I actually wan't planning on overclocking. At least for a month or two/until I get enough money to pay for a high(er) end heat sink.
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Can someone give me a specific 256 mb RAM I should get? Nothing over like 50 though...I was thinking of the CORSAIR MEMORY XMS
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Ok now I need to know if a 120 mm fan will fit on my motherboard. Here are the links...

Zalman Heatsink and fan
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

MSI K8N Neo4 Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE


EDIT*** That's a 120 mm CPU Heatsink and fan btw
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 12:15 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Wow 3 Hard Drives. I guess you would need it for video editing.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.