Upgrading my Computer, Need help choosing Hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2005, 12:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default Upgrading my Computer, Need help choosing Hardware

Ok so I'm looking to upgrade my computer, I already have:

-IDE 70 gb HD
-IDE 20 gb Slave drive
-IDE 80 gb HD
-DVD-Rom
-CD-Rom
-Case w/3 fans, temp gauge etc (Everything I need for that)
-Chaintech 7.1 sound card
-450 watt Power supply
-512 mb RAM, 256 mb RAM

That's pretty much all I'm planning on keeping from what I have...Everything else is SERIOUSLY oudated including my celeron cpu and built in 16 mb video card. Now I have about 750 to spend so with tax and shipping about 700 (I can get a little more if needed...max probably $40)

Now what I plan on getting is:

-Abit X700 256mb Video card GDDR3, PCI Express
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

-P4 3.0 GHz HT CPU
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

-Kingston 256mb ValueRam
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

-Cyber Acoustic 5.1 Speaker System (140 watt)
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

-Arctic Cooling CPU Fan
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

-Half Life 2...Not a necessity, just didn't want to be playing 1.6 on a comp like this...seems like a waste

----Now for the motherboard I'm having a great deal of trouble pickng out the right one. It needs to be HT compatible, and I would like enough connectors for (at least) 2 IDE HDs and 2 CD-Roms. But then also a few SATAs so I can upgrade later.

And I also don't know whether I should hold off on HL2 and the speaker system for now and go all out on the DDR2 or not.

And one last question. If I get a motherboard that supports 1 IDE 100 and 2 IDE 133 w/ RAID blah blah blah...Can I use all three for IDE 100 HDs?


Thanks you for any help and please don't flame me for being a noob...because I know that's what you guys do best


If anyone can leave me a message please do here. Or if anyone could take a few extra minutes and talk to me directly my AIM is: WisdomRacing
__________________

WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Also, it's gonna be Socket LGA775
__________________

WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 06:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok. . . are u goin to be using this system for video editting?

if yes u need ALOT more ram at least a gig.
if no use a amd 64

2ndly the x700 is beaten in almost every test by the 6600gt
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-220&depa=1

and that is the best one of them and its the same price as that card.

tell us how much u wanna spend and what u want to do with it and well give u more help.

i dont want to start a amd vs intel here just tryin to help
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Yeah the guys over at gruntville.com told me the same thing...go with an AMD 64. I hear it's better for gaming. I'll look into getting that 6600GT.

Like I said I've got 800 max and need all the stuff I listed. It doesn't matter to me how the money is distributed as long as it will be the best way I can spend it.
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

For the 6600gt, do they make an equivelant card that's PCI Express?
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 06:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes their's a PCI-E version of the 6600GT as they come in AGP and PCI-E
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 06:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Ok now do you guys reccomend me getting the AMD 64 3000+ w/ Winchester & HT, or the same thing but 3200+?

Not which is better because obviously the 3200 is but I mean w/ $50 price increase and whether or not the extra is needed.
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to WisdomRacing
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Yes their's a PCI-E version of the 6600GT as they come in AGP and PCI-E
Hey I'm still learning...just got into this stuff a couple weeks ago. But I've been a fan of fast comps forever
WisdomRacing is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 07:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You'll probably need to replace your memory or it will bottleneck the rest of your system and greatly decrease performance.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 07:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

shop from newegg.com 1st hint.

ive havent got time to check prices but this is what i would build

amd 64 winchester core 3000 or 3200
msi k8n neo4 nforce4 ultra mobo
gskill memory get 1 gig in 2 512mb sticks speed depended on total price
seagate sata hard drive size depended on total price
evga 6600gt pci-e
and case u like look off
try and get a decent psu and remember it has to be atx 2.0 for the pci-e
and any cd/dvd/sound u can afford on top.

that system woudl be good for overclocking so u get most for ur cash, if can afford get a nice heatsink for cpu sumthing like the thermalright xp-120 or the zalman 12cm all copper on cant remembr its name
hope that helps. just a rought guide
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.