Upgrading my computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default Upgrading my computer

I would like to upgrade my computer for gaming purposes mostly. Unfortunately i am a hack when it comes to this stuff, so i need help.

Current setup.

motherboard - k8m800m (no idea what that means, lol)
AMD Athlon 64 3000
GeForce FX5200 128mb
Soundblaster Audigy
512 MB DDR Ram

1. What TYPE of ram is the best? I would like to upgrade to 2 GB of DDR2 RAM but i am not sure if it is compatible with my system? (i am in the dark when it comes to ram)
2. Any recommendations on a high performance video card?
3. Does Soundblaster Audigy work with 5.1 speaker setups?
4. I am hoping i wont have to upgrade the processor. Advice?
5. How long until my motherboard will need to be upgraded?
6. Other comments/tips? (I need all the help i can get)

THANKS!
__________________

joelminns is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
motherboard - k8m800m (no idea what that means, lol)
http://gigabyte.electronics-director...-LAN-RAID.html

Socket 754... Ouch!

1. AMD does not support DDR2. PC3200 is the max that AMDs support.

2. The best you can afford, nVidia or ATI is personal preference.

3. For what they want for one, it should.

4. Advice? Ditch both it and your mobo and get a socket 939.

5. Now. Socket 754 is just a really, really bad dream.

6. Look at the DFI Lanparty mobos, those that have the nForce4 chips. The 939s are coming down in price, and the DFIs overclock like crazy... see where this is going? Everything else will transfer over.

Is your RAM a single stick, or a matched pair? If it is a single, get another one so you can utilize the dual-channel RAM offered by the 939s.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

if it were me, I'd get a whopping video card, like a 9800 series and beef up the ram a little. I think that could still be a very mean gaming machine for a few years.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default Re: Upgrading my computer

motherboard - k8m800m (no idea what that means, lol)
AMD Athlon 64 3000
GeForce FX5200 128mb
Soundblaster Audigy
512 MB DDR Ram

Quote:
1. What TYPE of ram is the best? I would like to upgrade to 2 GB of DDR2 RAM but i am not sure if it is compatible with my system? (i am in the dark when it comes to ram)
AMD does not use DDR2. Best ram to get is DDR400 PC3200. That motherboard got only 2 slots. I think 2GB a little over kill. I would recommend upgrading to 1GB of memory.
Quote:
2. Any recommendations on a high performance video card?
6600GT/6800GT depending on your budget. You will need to get the AGP version.

Quote:
3. Does Soundblaster Audigy work with 5.1 speaker setups?
I pretty sure yes

Quote:
4. I am hoping i wont have to upgrade the processor. Advice?
The cpu should be fine for now

Quote:
5. How long until my motherboard will need to be upgraded?
Depends on how high end you want to stay. Some people would say upgrade to skt 939 now. Personally I would stick with your skt 754 board untll skt M2 is release in about a year.

Quote:
6. Other comments/tips? (I need all the help i can get)
Future is going to be PCI-E so if you buy a agp video card now (which is your only option with your motherboard) then when you do upgrade motherboard you will also have to buy a new video card.

On the otherhand if you upgrade your motherboard now you will also need a new cpu. There really no way to win.

I would upgrade ram to 1gb, get a agp 6600GT, keep your current motherboard. In about a year when skt M2 comes out then it time to start thinking of a new motherboard.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default

wow. You guys are helpful, thanks. But I need more help lol.

So if I take Ryans advice, and spend a lot on a video card and a bit on ram ( i like this idea), when i upgrade my motherboard later the expensive video card will be useless... crap. And if i upgrade the motherboard now, I'll need a new processor as well?... crap, might as well buy a new computer.

Could someone explain PCI-E and AGP. My motherboard will only support AGP video cards? So that makes this one out of the question i guess.
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...606&CatId=1558

How much is the AGP 6600GT roughly. (a link would be awesome)
gold your final advice seems to be the best right now. How well will the setup you mentioned be able to run games?

I should mention that i would like to hook up 2 monitors for AutoCAD purposes. Can i keep my old video card hooked up and use it for one and the new one for the other? (This may also be a ridiculous question)

Heres a fun game for you. Make me a computer and leave a link. (canadian store)

http://www.geekshack.com/build_your_own.php

Thanks all.
joelminns is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default

OK. i have something new.

Here is a link to a shopping cart full of stuff

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/cgi-bin/ShoppingCart.asp


- Is this everything i need?

- Is this a wise choice?

- Any other reccomendations?.

Thanks once again. lol.
joelminns is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

cant show us the shopping cart. Its saved in your browser on your pc, not ours.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm still saying stick with the video card and ram idea... There's no need to go all out when the components you have are still awesome. An AMD 64 3000 is what I just ordered... There's nothing wrong with your motherboard and CPU. If you're into gaming, get a nice 9800 pro or an X8** something video card. AGP isn't backwards... To my knowledge they haven't even maxed out it's capabilities yet. I understand it that they're just trying to get a new slot in the market to prevent that from happening. I think your current setup has potential with more ram and a video card.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Id go with a 6600gt over a 9800 pro, its better.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130220

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...ml#3dmark_2005
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

If you get a geforce 6600GT just about all of them has a VGA and a DVI connection on it. You should be able to hook a monitor to both of them at a same time. (there are DVI to VGA converters if you need 2 vga monitors). This should make it so there no need to keep your old video card in your computer.
__________________

mgoldb2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.