Upgrading Laptops ... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 87
Question Upgrading Laptops ...

Hello guys,

I want to upgrade my laptop and I was wondering, how would I get access to my motherboard?

These guys had the same laptop as me and they fitted an ATi Graphics card ( something like 9700 or 9800 ) 128mb, they fitted up to 256mb ram, and put an Intel P4 Processor @ 3.06Ghz with Hyper Threading Technology in it.

I WANT TO DO IT!

Here are my system specs ...

2.8GHz Intel Celeron 4A
64Mb ATi Radeon 7000 IGP ( < Intergrated i think )
192Mb DDR Ram

Thats just the main bits n bobs really, the things I want to upgrade.

I just need to know how to access my motherboard and everything else.

Thank you for all your help and replies!

ZED
__________________

__________________
\" When those two tracks fit together to make the perfect harmony and the adrenaline of the crowd makes you fall to your knees, making your eyes water because your caught up in the moment.... thats when you know you are a real DJ \" - DJ Dayle
ZËÐ is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Usually you can access the mobo by removing the keyboard. My ACER allows you to install RAM from an opening in the bottom though, so you may want to check the manual if your installing RAM

Unfortunatly, I don't think you can update the graphics on your laptop, because A(it has integrated gfx and B(only high end, brand new Dells and Alienware's have swappable GFX cards
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Hmm, I don't know but I have the feeling that updating/modifying your laptop's hardware may get it f****d up. I would experiment on a usefull laptop first
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 87
Default

ok cool cheers guys
__________________
\" When those two tracks fit together to make the perfect harmony and the adrenaline of the crowd makes you fall to your knees, making your eyes water because your caught up in the moment.... thats when you know you are a real DJ \" - DJ Dayle
ZËÐ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.