Upgrading help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2005, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Question RAM Increase Speed

I have 256 MB of SDRAM PC133 DIMM 168. 8 MB is shared with my integrated video. My computer takes about 5 minutes to load, and I want to buy some more memory. So if I buy a stick of 512 MB, how fast will it be? Will I notice it?
I use about 45% of my harddrive space. And I'm also thinking of buying a PowerColor ATI Radeon 9250 PCI, because I have no AGP slot. Is this one of the best PCI video cards out? (not pci-e). And where can I get all this under 250 bux?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

This vid card:http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-434&depa=0

You are on your own with the RAM, anyone else know?
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

You will have to check and see how much and what kind of RAM your mobo can handle. You might not be able to put that much in. I had an old Intel board that had 64 MB in it. I put a 256 stick in and it ran fine. When I came across another 256 stick I put it in place of my 64 stick and it had major conflicts. It all depends on what you mobo can handle.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 07:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

lol itz not dat old i noe how much it kan handle 1 GB.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Check to see what type of RAM you need. It should be in the documentation that came with your computer.

If you don't have that, go to www.crucial.com and use their memory upgrade finder. It will guide you through the process and tell you what you need. Then go to NewEgg and get it cheaper.

512MB will give you a nice boost. Pick up this months copy of PC World for a couple of great articles on optimizing Windows and speeding it up.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

about the Radeon 9250 256MB, its a decent card considering. i was in the same boat, what with PCI slots only. I can play Far Cry on lowest settings (and it still looks great), on a P4 2.4ghz w/ 512 RAM. havent tried Doom 3 or HL2 though.
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

the crucial site iz for pc made by companies. i went dere, it doesnt detect it. i have a mx of 1024, it sayz 2048. it says i have a GANxxxx. i have a GA-6VEM. lol whuz up wit dat
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Whoa...i have a question. Do you need a special slot of PCIe? doesn't PCIe cards run on a normal PCI slot

The RAM will make a noticable difference. But your comp taking 5 min to load...that's something else I think. The ram might help, but to make your HD load faster Defragment it. My computer>Right click on a drive>properties>Tools>defragment. It might take awhile, like overnight, but it'll make your comp start up faster i think.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 07:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

If only PCI and PCI-E were compatible...it would be a dream come true

Unfortunately, they arent. PCI cards wont work in a PCI-E slot and visa-versa

I could be wrong, but I'm almost positive.
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 02:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

lol i wuz being sarcasticabout da 5 minz it olnly takes 2 minz. i defrag with diskeepr 9 everynite. lol i have a 80 gig harddrive im using 28 gigz
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.