Upgrading CPU. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default Upgrading CPU.

Im thinking about upgrading my CPU in a little while.
Right now im running a sempron 2500+
What would my best bet for a AMD socket A upgrade.

also has anyone heard anything about the Athlon MP?
__________________

__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

meh, there's really no upgrade unless you want to go xp-mobile and overclok the hell out of it like nubius, but i don't know if you know anything about overclocking.

either that, or you're going to have to upgrade to socket 939 for an amd 64
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Athlon XP-M 3000+
2.2GHz
266MHZ FSB
$135.99 OEM
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-482&depa=1

Athlon XP 3200+
2.2GHz
400MHz FSB
$141.49 Retail
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-390&depa=1

Not a lot of difference in price or speed.

Biggest differences are heat and power consumption.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 08:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

i have an xp and after seeing my friends mobile i wish i got one of them...they are cheap too...get a mobile chip from amd
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

for socket A platform, i think AMD Athlon XP Barton 3200++ is the max. u can go ~~~
The athlon mp is a server class cpu~~~
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Nubius has his pc overclocked to 2.6ghz for mormal use, and can get it higher.

I think your money will be better spent on the graphics card, as a 5200 is going to be holding you back alot further than processor.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.