Upgrading computer and ram questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default Upgrading computer and ram questions

Well. i am planning on upgrading from 3000+ athlon xp, 6600gt agp, 2x 512mb ddr ram fsb 333 pc2700....

to a 3200+ athlon xp, 6800gt (overclock to ultra if can) agp, 2 x 1gb ddr ram fsb 400 pc3200....

And in the ram, what is better... low cas or high cas, low voltage or high voltage, registered or non registered, buffered or non buffered,high density or low density..

also would i need heatsinks to use "high performance defaults"

and 1 more thing.. how much of a performance gain will i get from my upgrade?

could you answer all me questions please
__________________

__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

hello?
__________________

__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re:

Hello,

There's not much point upgrading from an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ to an AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Processor. You'll only jump from 2167Mhz to 2200Mhz. I don't see much sense in doing so.

If your intentions of upgrading the CPU to a 3200+ is to benefit from the increased bus speed of the newer barton cores, then same applies. A shift from 333Mhz to 400Mhz won't see a great performance increase.

As for the graphics cards i'm not too sure . I've never had to glance at higher end graphics card for i'm a cheapo on a 5700LE :tired:...

As for the RAM, ask yourself...do you require 2048MB of RAM? Personally I'd think 1GB is adequate enough for the majority of memory munching tasks but it very much depends on the uses of your machine I suppose.

With specifications of RAM its very much a question of what your motherboard requires, rather than what is better. Some motherboards can accept ECC RAM but others will refuse them. Some require registered RAM some don't. Some require buffered RAM, some don't. Some can accept one or the other. RAM specifications depends on your motherboard's specifications.
__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

i need the athlon xp 3200 so i can use the 3200 ram
__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re:

I see.

I don't see much point in having to deal with the expense of jumping from having a 333Mhz bus speed to 400Mhz bus speed. I would say just increasing the amoung of RAM you have is more than adequate. Having to purchase a new processor, motherboard plus extra RAM seems pointless for an upgrade, just for the extra 67Mhz of bus speed...especially when your current specs are perfectly fine.

My advice...just upgrade your RAM...and save the money for a better, more beneficial upgrade.
__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

The ram will just underclock to ddr333. No big deal. Also, low cas is better, registered and ECC are only for servers, and I have no idea what density is. Voltage does not matter with ram also. It just supplies the power to it.

Finally, you will see a performance increase with that set up. But I don't think its worth it to do it, unless your going to sell all your used parts. Its just better to wait it out. Your spending 110+ on the processor, 280+ on the video card, and 80+ on the ram. You might even need a new mobo too if your mobo doesn't support fsb of 400. All that adds up to, like a new computer.

I'm pretty sure that you can play every game you want with that setup, just not with max AA/AF/resolution.
__________________
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

my mobo does.. and i can get everything with just a £60 more spending money
__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 06:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re:

Hello,

I think he's interested in buying a barton core which has a 400Mhz bus speed, so it wouldn't underclock. But still 67Mhz is no big difference.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.