Upgrading computer help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default Upgrading computer help

I recently got an old computer, and I upgraded the RAM to 544MB, the HD to 135GB, the videocard to a GeForce 5600 FX Ultra 128MB, and the only problem is the processor now. It is a Pentium 2 366MHZ processor. I want to upgrade, probably to a 1GHZ P3, but a P4 would be better, however I don't know what my motherboard is compatible with. I've attached a few pictures from a program called CPU-Z, and I think these will help. What I need to know is what I should buy to upgrade my processor, because I've never done that before, and I haven't had the computer for very long, and I really don't have any clue what to do.





__________________

N1Nj4 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

WHy did you waste money on the RAM and graphics? Waste of money!!!!!!!!! Get a new PC. Build a new one.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

How about clueing us in on the make and model of this system.

I tried to find some info on your mobo, but came up with nada. If I had the make and model, I might can find you some more information as to what CPU it could handle.

I can safetly say that you won't be able to do much with it, as it is a Celeron (P2).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default

There is no make and model of the system. It's a blank case with this in it. I just need to kow what type of processor my motherboard can support.
N1Nj4 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

wow...you wasted your money on ddr133

that's so old, there'd no point in upgrading the CPU

just save up for a new computer, since there's really nothing to upgrade to for socket370 that's anything near decent
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

only socket 320 cpus so i would say only p-2's never cpu's use a different connection so you MUST get a new mobo to change the cpu there is no other way around this
sorry for being harsh but you gotta learn sumwhere
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.