Upgrading Computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 07:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 66
Default

I am prolly mistaken but o well i am just tellin you what my stupid computer has
__________________

bwisdom is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:24 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwisdom
its 1.8 and 2.8
Impossible to run two different speed processor in dual processor, you got f***ed over I am sorry to say

Also diablo II the 256meg 6200 Turbocache only has 32 meg of memory believe it or not. It refrences 224 meg of system ram if needed and uses 32 meg of onboard high speed memory.

Download and run CPU-Z from cpuid.com to give us more computer specs.

EDIT: Pentium 4's cannot be ran in dual processor with any stock motherboard. Some guy did get them to run in a custom built motherboard before though.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 66
Default

thank you, i feel alot better
bwisdom is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 66
Default

Ok the processor is 2.8

I have had a problem with my a memory chip i just bought to upgrade the ram. I had 512 installed when the computer was built. but when i purchased a 256 memory chip and putt them together the computer would only recognize the 512 so i took out the 512 and left the 256 in and it worked fine but when i put them together it would show only the 512, when i would look on my system info and dxdiag it would show only the 512. ok so i just ran the cpuid thing and it showed i had 768. the 512 is pc3200 and the 256 is 2700
bwisdom is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

1) not all the 6200's use shared memory. if you look at some of them thy do have 256 video ram memory. 300 core, 500 mem clock, 128bit, 4 pixel pipes.

2) some motherboard do run into compatablity problems if you mix differet kinds of memory sitck that have different timings, along with differen speeds... your probably just slowing your system down by installing the 256(pc2700) anyway. if you install anything lower then (pc3200), then your ram bus will run slower.
----------------------------------------------

I guess its possible to run Doom on ultra since your card doesnt use shared memory. but thats probably on low resolution im guessing.

Im curiouse about how well doom runs on your graphics card. Do the following....

==1) in Doom3's Settings tell us what resolution its running at? example-(1280x1024?, 1024x786?, 800x?

==2) in Doom3 press 'ctrl + alt + ~' (~ is right under Escape). then in the 'console' type.... TimeDemo Demo1 1
...then hit enter, at the end of the Demo it shows you your average FPS.

==3) Post back here, about the demo resaults..... What settings+resolution it was running, and what FPS score it gave you.

(note) if you wont to enable FPS wile your playing, you can just type the following command into console..... com_showfps 1
i think, i cant remember exactly, if not could be... cl_showfps 1, Show_fps 1

typing any key such as 'C' into the console then pressing 'Tab' will show you the command list starting with that letter.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

WOAH! Man don;t infinite post.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.