Upgrading Compatability? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2004, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to groovelite
Default Upgrading Compatability?

Hi I'm new to the site so if this, for some reason, is on the wrong board, I'm sorry.

Currently I am trying to upgrade my Athlon 1700+ Palomino(unfortunately) to an Athlon Mobile 2500 Barton. My Motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-7VTXE+ and it only supports 266 FBS. The Athlon 2500 Barton runs at 333 fbs, while the mobile runs at 266, also having a lower voltage for the same clock speed. Most of this is probably familiar with many of you, seeing as how it is the most popular CPU to OC. Can you forsee any kind of compatability issue with me using the Mobile 2500 with my motherboard? They are both Socket A with 266mhz fbs. The Gigabyte website gave an 'OK' on compatability with all the mobile processors, but the list cut off at Athlon XP Mobile 2000.



Also, earlier I said my motherboard only supports 266 FBS because my manual seems to tell me that. When I ran a program that analyzes the CPU, it said the chipset on my mother was KT266/333. Does this mean that I can support 333 and that my manual is non-specific? Any help is appreciated, thank you.
__________________

groovelite is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

yes there is a compatibilty isse why purchase a mobo and plan to use the barton 2500 ??? that mobo sucks if you wanna over clock. use a nf7-SV2 mobo
__________________

__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 172
Default

the manual probabli meant it can go up to 333 fsb, noy sure i wish my contemporaries would arrive in this thread. and give u some more info im a novice
__________________
im too good for a sig :p heres my specs
system specs: 2.0 ghz amd athlon xp 2400+
ABIT NF7-SV2(yeah!!)
radeon 9200 SE vid card :(
60 gig hardrive
32*Cd-rw and 16*DVD drive
17\" CRT monitor
mushkin 512 mb pc 3200
darkwingduck is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: Upgrading Compatability?

Quote:
Originally posted by groovelite



it said the chipset on my mother was KT266/333.
the chipset on that board is actually VIA KT266/8233

representing KT233 as Northbridhe and 8233 as southbridge controller of the motheboard.

this chipset in all version are on 266 FSB (and not 333), but you can run your processor on it, BUT also, it wont show clock speed which you are expecting, as in determining, clock speeds of processors, there are 2 things, Clokc Multiplier and FSB. so it makes your FSB = 133 (or 266 on DDR), and the clock is fixed, so when multiplied with 133 rather than 166, your actual clock out-put will be lower.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 01:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to groovelite
Default

Thank you for the responses. I know the whole fsb/multiplier system, but are you saying that I should be able to run the mobile 2500? I don't even need to overclock, I just am dying for a little more performance and don't plan on buying a new pc til mid summer.



And since this is related, if I were to buy a new motherboard, when I transfer hard drives and memory and all the components that I can, will I have to reinstall the OS or will everything stay the same, save the BIOS?
groovelite is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.