upgrading Asus P4T533-C bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2003, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to jamminparidise
Default upgrading Asus P4T533-C bios

I have an Asus p4t533-c mobo with bios revision 1003. Now i have a 3.06 with HT that needs bios revision of 1008 or later. How do i upgrade the bios without a functioning processor? I've contacted Asus tech support, but they've yet to contacte me concerning this matter after about a week now. I know i can replace the chip, but the Asus website has a flash utility. Can i flash the bios without a functioning processor? or do i have to buy a new chip and go from there?

any help is greatly appreciated
Shaun
__________________

jamminparidise is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Mm9004
Default

You can't.

Borrow another Processor, or you're stuck.
__________________

Mm9004 is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to jamminparidise
Default

thanks for the help, that's not exactly what i wanted to hear, one other thing though. I have some understanding that "moblie" pentium 4's won't work with desktop systems, i wouldn't see why they wouldn't, but i was told they wouldn't. I have another chip in a dell laptop is why i'm asking. It's only a 2.4 so i could use it if it would work in my motherboard.
jamminparidise is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 05:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to jamminparidise
Default

OH, and no, the system doen't post at all, the thing only turns on the fans and all devices, i boot with no processor or processor, same thing happens.

>Will the system even post with the new chip? Don't worry if it >displays the wrong speed. If so..then you should be able to >boot to A: and flash it or enter windows and use the Asus flash >utility.
jamminparidise is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to jamminparidise
Default

well, the other chip i had was out of a buddies computer, but he moved 3 states away, we just wanted to fire the beast up and see what would happen. I have one more option, my mom has a dell laptop that i could borrow the P4 2.4 out of it. I heard though that mobile processors are different? but they should basically be the same, maby a lower voltage but the mobo should auto sense that shouldn't it?

thanks for all the info guys.
Shaun
jamminparidise is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.