Upgrading ! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2005, 02:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default Upgrading !

I've been considering my options and building a brand new one isn't one right now. I'm stuck with a daggy PC which was bought at a retailer about 4 or so years ago (1.5GHZ, 256 SDRAM (2x128, 32MB TNT2 M64 <- )
I've found my mobo stats from CPU-Z:

MOBO

Manufacturer: Hewlett Pakard
Model: Dublin
Chipset: Intel | i845 Rev. A3

BIOS

Brand: Pheonix
Version: 6.00
Date: 09/21/2004

GRAPHIC INTERFACE

Version: AGP Version 2.0
Transfer Rate: x4 Max. Supported: x4
Aperture Size: 64 MBytes
Side Band: Disabled

---------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, I was thinking of getting something of the likes of this:

512SDRAM (can I get DDR? with that mobo?)
ATI 9250 (Support that too?)

What do you guys reccomend? And what could that mobo support.. I can make out some things but, the rest, nyuh.
__________________

^I'mWithStupid^ is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

It'll be cheaper to get a new mobo and ram.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

im not sure but i recon your mobo will only suppoty pc133

also how good is the ATi 9250? because i have a NvidiaGF FX5200 you can have for AU$40 with postage to Vic if you want
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
It'll be cheaper to get a new mobo and ram.
GX Card too... I didn't say i'm not going to be gaming.

Yah, the RAM currently in their is 133mhz, so you're probably right. And about the nVidia card; most likely no. But is the 9250 able to be in their with that mobo?
^I'mWithStupid^ is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

upgrading won't help at all

you either get a new computer, or save up for one
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Please explain
^I'mWithStupid^ is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

its agp and your mobo is agp.

but your mobo is agp 2x and the 9250 is agp 8x usally they run a lower APG speeds no problems.

9250 is not very good
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Dang... Any nice cheap mobos I could get>?
^I'mWithStupid^ is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

www.newegg.com

search for all, lowest price to highest.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I know Newegg........ Just any cheap/good ones that come to mind.
__________________

^I'mWithStupid^ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.