Upgraded to XP, now system won't boot!?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2004, 02:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default Upgraded to XP, now system won't boot!?!

PIII 800MHz, 512 Ram, A-Trend ATA-V931-CX1 Mobo.

I was upgrading my friend to XP, but the install kept hanging at the same point when "15 minutes remain". The mouse would freeze and everything. So, I removed the HD and used it as the primary in one of my other computers and finished the installation. I configured the OS as instructed, rebooted, scaned for viruses/malware, performed a diskcheck and defragmented. Everything was fine.

When I returned the HD back to the original Mobo, BIOS would recognize it, but I kept getting the "windows did not start up properly last time... choose how you want to start" (with safe mode options, etc.). No matter what I choose, I see a brief "blue screen" flash with some error message, and the system restarts immediately. I have tried the "pause/break" key with no luck. I am not sure what the error is, but the system will NOT boot. I even tried to boot the system with my HD from another working computer.

The Mobo and HD worked fine with Win98.
The HD worked fine with XP on another Mobo.
Any XP loaded HD will NOT boot on the Mobo.

So, I thought to flash BIOS. Maybe it needs a newer version. However, it seems that A-Trend has gone out of business or something, because they have no website. I can't find a BIOS or Manual for the Mobo, despite my hours of searching.

I even tried disconnecting all PCI cards and drives except for the video card, and boot HD. I don't think there is a conflict there.

I don't know what else to try.

I am looking for ANY help right now! Either with identifying the problem, or finding a BIOS upgrade, or any way to get this system to boot an XP install.

Mobo specs:

A-Trend ATA-V931-CX1
Award BIOS v4.51PG
BIOS-2M 2K001214

I think it uses:
Via Apollo Pro Plus 692/596 Chipset


mc137 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185

http://www.bios-drivers.com/companies/129.htm has all of the BIOS driveres for atrend mobos. Here's another one:

\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8

thank you for the links, but I have tried both of those sites already.

"V961-SX1 Apollo Pro 133 " is the closest that they have, however, mine is V931-CX1 Apollo Pro Plus.

I also found a bunch of drivers for A-Trend ATC motherboards, but none for an ATA-V931.

As sensitive as the BIOS is, I would hate to flash it with one for an incompatible chipset.

any other ideas/links?
mc137 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Flashing BIOS is definately the answer, since many people with older BIOS versions have this problem because of compatability issues with XP. Try to get a hold of a BIOS flash, maybe from a P2P network. If you can afford it, I would get a new mobo even if its another P3 one. These mobos are very cheap these days and get one made by Asus or a company that still updates its BIOS.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185

There is a pay site called www.esupport.com that might be able to help, otherwise I'll keep an eye out. I haven't been able to find anything on the V931-CX1, only the V931-CX0.
\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8

i appreciate it...
let me know if you have any other ideas!
mc137 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 11:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157

I had the similar problem with the OS hanging up on install and it was the damn cpu not seated right. Not sure if u tried that cp in another pc though, so I might just be rambling.
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506

Since you installed the OS on a different computer, it doesn't recognize the hardware when booting up causing it to crash. You may want to try and boot up with the XP CD and select repair. That might do the trick.
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8

^ I tried that last night.

It booted from the XP CD without problem, then I selected "install". It recognized the previous XP installation, and said it would attempt to repair it. It went through the install process again, starting at "46 minutes", but by the time it got to about "15 minutes", the computer restarted, then began the installation again from the beginning at "46 minutes". (this is not counting a restart that the installation performs purposefully).

So, it no longer freezes at "15 minutes", it just shuts down, and restarts the installation at the beginning. I let it do this for a few hours, before just turning it off.

I tried the "repair console" also, from the XP CD. That allowed me to see the /Windows directory in MS-DOS mode, but when I treid to see the contents of the directory, it froze and I had to shut down. What could I do to repair the installation from the dos-based repair console?
mc137 is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23

Believe your problem is the BIOS since system worked w/win98.
But I have some other suggestions that may help.

1) Do you have more than 1 ram chip?
To check for incompatable memory chips remove one.

2) Have you ran the XP hardware compatibilty wizard? I'm not sure that it can be done before install or only thur a windows interface.
This will tell you (or should) where your issue is.

3) A cheap board is like a cheap date,
no fun and nothing but trouble.

4) If case is open when install is attempted, heat may be another issue. Close case or increase air flow with a fan blowing into case.

I will not install XP on any system with less than 1 Ghz CPU/ 256MB memory. Most boards under 1 Ghz will need the bios flashed. You are already aware of that danger.

Luck, Bill, Zhills

billzhills is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.