Upgrade time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2004, 08:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default Upgrade time

It is high time my PC was upgraded. Currently I am running an Athlon XP 1900+ on an ASUS A7S333 mobo with 1gb of 2100 DDR and a Geforce 3Ti 200 128mb. The other components in my system are all fairly new (Audigy 2, 2x hds, etc) and I wont be upgrading them.

So I want to get

A 939 mobo... which chipset is best to go for? I have seen a few nforce 4 boards... are they any good or what about the VIA K8T800Pro VIA VT8237?

An AMD Athlon 64 processor ... was thinking the 3200 winchester

Graphics card ... was thinking geforce 6600GT 128ddr

Memory ... was thinking 2x 512 TwinMos DDR 400 dual-channel (3200)

Between the cash I got for Christmas and the cash i think I can afford to spare from my wages I think i can afford to spend around £400


Has anyone got any sugestions as to these components or others in my price range that perhaps I should look at instead??

Many thanks

Hygor
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

If you want a good 939 motherboard i would suggest a MSI K8N Neo2 platinum motherboard. It uses the nforce 3 ultra chipset and can OC very well. I just got one today and it seems to do wonders. I got it with a 3200 winchester as well and some Kingston Hyper X PC3200. So far it did 250 MHz at 2225 timings which isn’t bad at all. To bad it inst my stuff but everything seems to be great.

Neosteve
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Nice setup, although I would suggest a 256MB 6600GT instead of a 128MB one. The eVGA version is the best.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

neosteve: I have been looking at that board but arent I better getting hold of an nForce 4 board rather than getting an nForce 3

beedubaya: I havent seen a 256mb version of the GT here in the UK, just the standard version... well i suppose I shall keep looking.

Cheers for the advice guys!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

yeah neither have i hygor, mind u its difficult to find the 128 gt, its never in stock!!!
ardy89 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

The MSI K8N Neo2 platinum is one of the best 939 boards out there at the monument I think if you want to do some nice overclocks. As for the nForce 4 and nForce 3 I suggest you wait for the nForce 4 Ultra to come out and then get that but make sure it has a 2xPCI-E slot as well as a 16xPCI-E slot so you can try do SLI on the ultra Chipset if you really want to. If you want to go this route I suggest MSI's new K8N NEO4 featuring the nFroce 4 Ultra chipset.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

yeah definitely get an nforce4 board, even i fudont use sli straight away eventually you will be able to afford that extra card and therfore that extra performance boost!!
ardy89 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

Yay... jsut found and ordered a pci express version of the card with 256mb from dabs.co.uk!!!! infact just ordered my full upgrade from them!!!

The specs I have chosen are:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ S939

Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 Socket 939 nForce 4 -4 X PCI-E

Gigabyte GeForce PCX6600GT 256MB PCI-E DVI-I VO

2x512mbDDR PC3200 (400)
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

wow sweet!!!! trhat will be immense, can u affors a second 6600gt!!!! it would be even better!!
ardy89 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

two graphics cards... thats obscene... nah i cant afford that... (I can barely afford what I bought)
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.