Upgrade RAID 1 to larger drives... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2009, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Question Upgrade RAID 1 to larger drives...

Currently my server has (2) 250 GB hard drives in a RAID 1 configuration and I'm running out of space and need to upgrade to larger drives. The server currently is running on Server 2003 and has a Promise TX4310 raid controller and (2) hot swap bays. The following is what I am assuming is the easiest method for moving the array to the larger drives.

1) Mirror the smaller drive onto the larger drive using DriveImage or similar software.
2) Install now mirrored larger drive into main drive bay and extend the partition to take up the full available drive space.
3) Do the same to another drive and then let the array auto-rebuild.

I've never had to do this before so any assistance would be helpful. Of course I will have a full backup of the drive, just in case anything happens. Thanks in advance for any comments.

Nitrocrusher is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Re: Upgrade RAID 1 to larger drives...

Not sure if this is the best place for this question, but anyone able to help?

Nitrocrusher is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Upgrade RAID 1 to larger drives...

You can use either Ghost or Partition Magic to copy a drive and expand the partition to encompass the whole drive (maybe both). Once you get them copied, shut down and swap them out.

That would be what I would do with it, but I haven't messed with RAID.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-10-2009, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Upgrade RAID 1 to larger drives...

I have done this a few times.

1. Break the drive mirror. Remove one of thes orginal hard drives.
2. Install 1x larger hard drive
3. Use programs like Norton's Ghost (or some other drive copying program) to copy the OS and the contents of your drive.
4. Remove the other orginal hard drive
5. Check to make sure you can boot up from your new drive.
6. Install the second new hard drive
7. Boot up into your RAID unlitity and create and rebuild your drive mirror again.

In a nutshell, it's copy one drive accross, then rebuild the next.

When it comes down to RAID, I rather use an seperate Adaptec Card as appose to an onboard RAID card.
Reason being is that I can easily migrate that RAID Card and RAID drives from one machine to another.
I also like the tools that come with this adapect RAID card. One of these tools being the ability to rebuild a RAID Drive and still have people accessing the data at the same time.

The other thing that i don't like doing with RAID is having the OS and DATA on the same drive. Virus normally attack the OS Partition or the hard drive with the OS on it. So lets say you use your Parition Table, you will loose it on both your drives and your data.
Operating Systems can be in-reinstalled. You might has come down time, but aleast you will be up and running agian soon. Your data on the other hand. Once it's gone, it vary hard to get back.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do people put two hdd's in their comp? Druid System Upgrades 35 11-20-2008 10:33 PM
2 Hard Drives??? Method Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2008 07:57 AM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 01:37 PM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 04:19 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.