upgrade question!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2004, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Default upgrade question!!!

I am in a little bit of a pickle here. I have a choice between upgrading my processor or else to upgrade my ram. I have to buy this laptop for SEVERE (and I really mean it) multimedia tasking. So, I can either upgrade from a 3.4 ghz prescott (1mb L2 cache) to a 3.4 ghz extreme edition processor (2 mb L3 cache) or else i can upgrade from 1024 mb Dual-Channel 400mhz ddr ram to 2048mb. What should I do?!?!?!?! the price is equivalent (30 dollar difference) and although i've seen articles saying that the 3.4 ghz extreme edition isn't worth the price increase (like 600 dollars), it is still faster. I'm not sure whether upgrading to 2048 mb from 1024 will change my computer much since I'm talking in HUGE amounts of ram already. I'm looking to choose one because both is out of my (already big freakin') budget . PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help!!!!

thx

pika

specs:

17.1 '' WXGA screen
9700 Radeon Mobility (256mb)
60gb (7200 rpm)
DVD+-RW
etc...etc...etc....
__________________

pikatan is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

go with the ram, cause the processors are pretty much the same in speed, all that will matter now is the amount of ram.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
Default

I had a similar scenario recently, though not quite as high spec. I ended up taking the RAM option as that would keep all my existing tasks happy for now, and improve the performance far more than slight processing speed. I figure with the generational changes in Processors, I'd be able to upgrade that at a later date and for a reasonable saving down the track.

Was best to take care of the RAM.

My 2c worth, but your $...
blackx is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 05:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the P4 extreme won't give you very much more than you already have, I would go with the RAM upgrade
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Prescot eats more power.Coupled with more ram added power drag.I hope your gonan have a wall out let close and not depend on battery life much.

I vote the EE not entirely sure about the power usage but makes sense.
Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.