upgrade for new games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2004, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to triXsta
Default upgrade for new games

well i play cs competively and having 100 fps in this game is very important since lower fps will affect your shooting.with cs:source coming out i think i might need an upgrade if i want the same performance.

my specs are
amd athlon xp 3000+
radeon 9600xt
512 mb dual chann ram
_________________________________________________

i am not amazing with computers but i know stuff about them,i was wondering if having a gig of ram will help at all even if u arent using over 512 mb of ram?im saying if i only use 400 mb of ram will having a gig of ram still be faster than 512?also i dont think my vid card is good enough for source.i was thinking of getting a x800 xt plat edition for my next upgrade.

i was playing source beta at my lan center and the specs of the pcs there are 5600s 256 mb vid cars,athlon xp 2800s+,and 512 dual channel ram and i was running beta with lowest in game settings and 800x600 resolution and only getting an average of maybe 40 fps!!!!!!this is why i think i need to upgrade my video card or maybe ram
__________________

triXsta is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

sorry i dont have any answers for u, but was wondering.. wat is counter strike Source? i know wat counter strike is, but never played it.

wat is source, and why does it take up so much resources? is it just a blowded mod?
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

well trix i think that setup will do fine, but if you really want to have a good comp then go the way you are thinking (x800) or a 6800. They will serve you up some good gaming.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to triXsta
Default

source is the counterstrike for hl2...much better graphics and new models,maps,etc and better physics
triXsta is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 08:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well, A X800 XT PE, will probably be all you need for CS:S to have awesome FPS, but adding another 512mb of RAM wouldn't hurt

What kind of RAM do you have now?
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to triXsta
Default

its corsair pc3200 dual channel 512 mb ram
triXsta is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by triXsta
its corsair pc3200 dual channel 512 mb ram
So its 2x 256mb? If its one stick you could just buy another one exactly like it, which would save you some money, but if its 2x 256mb. you'll probably have to buy a new 2x 512mb pack, which run around $200, depending on which you choose
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 02:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

if it is 2x 256, then upgrade, if it is 2x 512 then leave it
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 02:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to triXsta
Default

it is 2 256s
triXsta is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 06:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

put it at 2 512's and then it should show some improvement
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.