Upgrade = Downgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2005, 01:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default Upgrade = Downgrade?

Hey, I just upgraded my powersupply, from a 350Watt system, to a 400Watt system. I also increased my RAM from 512pc3200, to 1 Gig of Pc3200, and added a few fans. However when I started up games like Counter-Strike:Source, my frames dropped from about 50-80 average, to 10-30 average, even when I'm standstill.

I also tried out Aquamark3 to double check that it wasnt just source, and when i used to get 50-70k, now i get 10-20k scores.

I installed everything correctly, and double checked. When i put the ram in, I made sure all of my components were placed back. My power connections are all accounted for and I'm running my OS fine, its just when there is any intense graphical processing is when I run into trouble. I also clean uninstalled my drivers, and re-installed them but with no luck.

The only problem I can see is that i have two different manufactures of RAM running in my comp. However i dont think this is the case because both sticks of ram are compatible with my motherboard, and both are pc3200 DDR RAM, 512.

CURRENT PC SPECS:

MB: P4P800 Delux W/800mghz FSB
CPU: P4 2.4 w/Hyperthreading
RAM: 1 Gig Pc3200
VIDEO: 6800BFG GT OC

Has this happend to anyone, or does anyone have any suggestions? Im kinda stuck in the mud and i've run out of options.
__________________

d817b is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Lower your graphics setting in Options.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

Well yeah i think the only prob is with your RAM
__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

What happens when you pull the new RAM chip out and test the machine?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Yep. . . its the ram. I guess its not a good idea to mix different types of ram.

But I was told that as long as the P4P was compatible with that type of ram you could interchange the manufacture as long as it was the same type. . . .

And also, it doesn't seem like ram would lower a frame rate that badly. . . Windows also recognizes it as 1 gig of ram and is running fine with it.
d817b is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

Thought so hopefully you can get your money back
__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 04:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Dang man that sucks, Those numbers are abysmal, didnt know that ram can make that big a difference, thanks for the story, good luck.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 04:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

LOL yeah im getting another Gig of RAM and i gotta check the brand so i dont get his problem
__________________

__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.