Upgrade CPU or Ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2004, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default Upgrade CPU or Ram?

Since i am very limited to how much I can spend right now, I am stuck between getting more ram or a cpu upgrade..

My motherboard currently holds a 1800+ amd 1.5ghz cpu, the highest it can hold is a 2.0ghz cpu (only +500mhz upgrade).. This I can get for 80 bucks... On the other hand, I also have 512 DDR Ram, and can get another 512 DDR Ram stick for 80 bucks, putting me at 1024 Ram..

Which do you guys think would pay off more? The reason I am trying to upgrade if for better gaming performance.. My video card is fine, a Radeon 9600 XT.. But not sure if the 500mhz upgrade would beat another 512 ddr ram chip..

any suggestions?
__________________

xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Thats a tough call. I would say memory if you do a lot with software. If you do gaming then get faster cpu.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 12:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

Thanks for the reply.

Any one else agree with mrzeeedler? Or think I should go for the ram?
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

Okay, I do agree with what mrzeeedler said. Maybe for gaming you should go with a faster processor. But, I also know that a processor at 800 mhz with 512 mb or RAM is better than a processor at 1.2 ghz with 128 mb or RAM.

Not that you would want a 1.2 ghz processor with 128 RAM anyway. I'm just saying, take that into perspective.
wannabe_hacker is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 02:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Definately the processor. Get a new mobo while your at it. Most games today don't require anymore RAM than 256MB. 512MB will hold you a bit longer.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 03:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Now u can get ram first, then when u have money , u just change your mobo n cpu, n use back the ram.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 03:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

i think u should get the cpu and mobo, but make sure it supports ddr400 then once uve got the money buy sum of that speed ram. plus u dont need a gig of ram atm so there will be very little performance increase at all.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.