Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Upgrade

Im trying to upgrade my ram on a old Dell Dimension Lx700
It already had a stick of 128mb Ram already in it.
Specs:
128mb ,Sync ,133 CL3
16mx64 SDram

Now I put in a stick of this too:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-204&depa=1

When I boot it up with the 2 sticks in it gives me a slow readout saying it has 256mb Ram, but when It gets to the loading screen for XP it just reboots after its done loading. I tried taking the old stick out and just had the new one in and it will not even boot up. I moved the ram to the other slot still no difference. Could it be a possibility that I need to use 8 chip ram rather than 4 chip?
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Have you tried good ole memtest86+ to see if one or both of the sticks are faulty?
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Im going to try the MEMTEST86, i'll reply back with results.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I ran memtest86 with both sticks of ram in, it only ran like 2 parts of 1 test and all of the readouts on the bottom were RED, then like 10 seconds later the computer monitor turned all sorts of different colors, I had to do a hard reset to turn it off .Then I ran it with the 1 stick of my original ram, no problems at all........ So I take it that it is either bad and or not the right kind? Which is it?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.