Updating BIOS Q! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2004, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default Updating BIOS Q!

I am trying to update the BIOS of my new built computer. The problem is I don't have a floppy drive installed. Is there anyway to update it without using the floppy drive? Thanks
__________________

__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 06:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 121
Default

You could do it from if you can make a bootable CD rom, but I think you need a boot disk with e cd rom drivers anyway. Do any BIOS have generic cd rom drivers in them?

I suppose creating a virtual ram drive from windows might work - I think they survive reboots. Haven't got a clue how to do it though, not directly from windows anyway, only automatically from a windows boot disk. There must be a guide somewhere about make a ram drive somewhere abouts on the net.
__________________

Cogwork is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83
Default

If it's a new build with a new motherboard you may not need a floppy. I upgraded my bios using a utility from my system's web site. It started up from windows xp. Of course it did a reboot and went from there but I never had to use a floppy. Of course that could be because Shuttle's don't come with a floppy anyway.
Fragino is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

you maybe able to do it with a thumb/usb drive. check to see if you have an option in bios or by jumper for allow usb boot.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

go to this website :

http://www.asus.com/support/english/...os2/index.aspx
jaksback is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cogwork
You could do it from if you can make a bootable CD rom, but I think you need a boot disk with e cd rom drivers anyway. Do any BIOS have generic cd rom drivers in them?
That is one BIG common misperception. The BIOS does not contain any drivers, and it certainly doesn't contain enough space for a color VGA monitor driver. It doesn't have to be from the floppy as long as your PC can boot from the CD-ROM. Although it can be done, I defintiely would prefer flashing a BIOS from a floppy.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.