Updating Bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2004, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default Updating Bios

how do i update the bios? i got some files from www.driverguide.com but i dont know where to put them. also i need to update my bios flash utility.

if you know how to or know any sites could you please tell me
__________________

__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

you have to go to the motherboard manufacturers site and get the latest bios update from them. Download it and then follow instructions, you have to put it on a bootable disk so find a floppy and format it. That is just basic go to the site for more help.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

AMIBIOS does have any downloads

i have this informaition...:



BIOS String info:
An AMIBIOS ID String Was Detected:

62-1113-009999-00101111-071595-440BXSMC




AMIBIOS ROM Size: 256 KB

BIOS Build Date: Jul 15 1995

Motherboard Manufacturer Code: 9999Not listed in MAN.DAT file

AMIBIOS Build Tag: M773MR

AMIBIOS Project ID: M773MR Not listed in TAG.DAT file
__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

DO NOT go to http://www.driverguide.com to get your update. You have to goto the manufacture's site and get the update for your EXACT model and version of motherboard. You will need 2 diskettes. One to create a boot disk, and the other for the BIOS update.

Restart and boot into DOS. Insert the diskette with the update, and flash the BIOS. Read the instructions from the manufacture's site as you may need a certain string to attach to the command.

Once the BIOS is updated... Power off the computer. Clear the CMOS by switching the jumper on the motherboard. Power on your computer and reconfigure the BIOS and you are good to go!

Goodluck! I hope this helped.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

I downloaded the .rom file from the proper site (pcchipsusa.com) and i dont know where to put this file.

How do I find out what version of AMI Flash BIOS Utility I need?
__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default Re: Updating Bios

Quote:
Originally posted by Grimey
how do i update the bios? i got some files from www.driverguide.com but i dont know where to put them. also i need to update my bios flash utility.

if you know how to or know any sites could you please tell me
some mobo provide software/program for u to update BIOS online. Such as Asus Update etc. This save a lots of time.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 12:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

They have the procedure but i cant find the Flash Utility anywhere on their site..
__________________

__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.