Updates? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2004, 07:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Question Updates?

just doing some routine updating cleaning, fixing and protecting of my pc and im not sure what i should update besides my software,windows autoupdate,and nvidia drivers,
i have a proprietary HP mobo called a "Yale" a proprietary 300c HP dvd writer, a western digital 15gb and seagate 160gb hard drive, HP ps2 keayboard and optical mouse, syncmaster 172n samsung monitor, realtek fast ethernet, 2.8ghz intel with HT, realtek ac'97 built in audio, 2 jbl "platinum series" speakers, a compaq ij600 printer,and 1.5gb kingston ram,

i havent updated basically anything of it cept windows update,
i think bios is locked, so i dont think i can i update, and if i could, i dont think i would since i share it with someone and flashing bios can fail pretty badly, so any software or firmware updates to retrieve?
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

oh and the vid card is a geforce fx5200 but i D/L updates from nVidia periodically, and just recently got one
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

anyone?
help plz!
GageMW is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well, if u updaed the drivers from window update, what else you want to update? the physical look of your system??


and as far as BIOS is concerned. its generally said that, "AVOID UPDATING THE BIOS AS IF IT IS NOT GIVING PROBLEMS"

Understand?
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

uh.... jeez it's quiet,
help?
GageMW is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

oh sorry about above post, didnt see yours, yup, understood.
but was wondering if i needed any CD firmware or something that isn't on windows update
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.