UPC Codes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2007, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default UPC Codes

What are UPC codes and where are they located? I need them for my rebates but I can't find them.
__________________

ScaryManInThePark is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: UPC Codes

They are the barcodes that the retailer scan when they sell you the item. It usually 5 numbers then 5 numbers.
Looks like this:

The scam is that your gonna have to cut it out. Then when the item breaks, the warranty won't cover it.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: UPC Codes

What if I xeroxed the code? Is it really a bad idea to try to get rebates then over just a lower price becuase of this?
ScaryManInThePark is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: UPC Codes

Quote:
The scam is that your gonna have to cut it out. Then when the item breaks, the warranty won't cover it.
Not always. There's usually something on the rebate form that says "Ignore the 'Warranty void if removed' sticker" or something like that (usually, anyway. I know my gfx card has that, and I just recently had to send it in for a replacement.

Quote:
What if I xeroxed the code? Is it really a bad idea to try to get rebates then over just a lower price becuase of this?
They only accept the original UPC codes off of the box. Otherwise they'll just reject it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.