unstable system after upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 09:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 97
Default unstable system after upgrade

I recently upgraded my computer from onboard video to a geforce 5500oc. My system started to act a little eratically after that. Things such as the moniter going squirrelly ( no picture, lots of lines of different colour, that sort of thing) This could be corrected by rebooting. I've been in touch with BFG tech support with no luck so far.The only thing they figure it is so far is a latency problem. Meanwhile I got a wireless keyboard mouse combo for a gift. This is when things started going south more. The problem is now that my system hangs quite frequently. I friend told me to update my bios, and I looked into that. I'm no computer whiz and I found this a little confusing. After reading in these forums I also started wondering if maybe it was a memory problem or something? If anyone has any thoughts on what it might be or how to fix it I'd like to hear it. I don't really want to spend a whole lot more to upgrade as I would like to get a new system some day.
Here are my specs

VIA VT8601T Appollo PLE 133T
Biostar M6VLQ
celeron 1.3 Ghz.
192mb SDRAM
NVIDIA Geforce FX 5500 OC
Win 98SE
__________________

Taz202 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

Did you disable you onboard video in the BIOS? If you don't do that you will get conflicts with the new card.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Also how many watts is your power supply? Maybe it's not quite powerful enough. That can cause system hangs.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 11:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 50
Default

the lines and everything might be the overheating of the card. (mainly the vram.) check if nothing is blocking your cards cooler, and see if it has enough airflow in your case.
foxhound is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 11:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

If you want to rule out memory, download memtest (download is in my sig) and run it overnight. If you have error's then you have bad memory
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 97
Default

First off I tried to disable the onboard video in the bios without any luck. I went through every bit of it, even with the tech and could not find anything about disableing the onboard video. I have also been told that when you install the video card it would automatically disable onboard video?? As far as the psu goes origanally it was only 230w but I got ahold of one that is 300w. As for the card overheating, I installed it in the bottom slot and there is even an empty slot above it, also I have left the cover off so it should be getting lots of airflow I would think. I have also just downloaded memtest and will run it.
I really appreciate the replies from everyone.
Thank you
Taz202 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Yeah, plug and pray is supposed to do that for you, but its always good to make sure manually.
The monitor display issues and your new wireless keyboard makes me think it's probably more of a psu issue.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Hmm, his psu is only 300w. And you said oc for your vidcard, how much did you oc it by?? I think you might've overdone it man, set it back to norm speeds. Usually if you oc it too much, you will see graphical errors. If you've left it oced too much for too long, you might've permanently damaged the memory on your vidcard man. Ocing means running thigs much faster than they should. So think of a freight train going above the reccomended speed, more likely to fly off the track right? now if you were going full speed, blazing fast, and tried to take a sharp corner? you've probably derailed. crash, bam, need to pay money to fix the problem. Let's hope you can fix this before the damage is done.

I seriously bet this is the problem. OCing does lead to a lot of system hangs. If ya want better preformance I say just spend your money getting the better equipment. Cause see, if you've damaged your vidcard, that's cash you'll never get back. And you probably can't RMA it since ocing voids out your warranty. I say ocing is only good if you have a really old beat-down computer and want to break it so mommy & daddy can buy you a new one. Worked once for me, lol. I'm soo jaded.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

I think he meant that it is an OC'd out of the box video card...that's what I gathered from him. Correct me if I'm wrong. If so then those are the stock settings for the card.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 97
Default

Thanks again for the input and yes synergy you are correct, the card was oc'd out of the box. That all being said do you think the 300w psu is sufficient for my system. The only thing that's been added to it is the video card and the keyboard. The card is pci if that makes any difference.
__________________

Taz202 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.