Unplug Everything to Turn On Computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2003, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default Unplug Everything to Turn On Computer?

My old HP Pavilion has been freaking out for months. This used to be a minor problem, though, but now it's truly disturbing...

Basically, oftentimes when I turn on my computer, the light on the power button flashes green for one second and then simply goes black again, and the computer never even attempts to start up. After it would flash, the power button would become unusable, and the computer just couldn't be turned on! I randomly tried to fix it, and I soon discovered that if I unplugged a bunch of plugs on my surge protector, and then plugged them back in, the computer would eventually start back up (I sometimes had to do this 3 or 4 times, though)...and I have no idea why. I thought it might just be the power plug, but many times I had to unplug more than just that (telephone plug, monitor plug...you know, all of 'em).

I have to basically do this everyday now (turn on computer, let it flash, then turn off surge, unplug everything, replug everything, turn on surge, then turn on computer), and it's really annoying.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

either your surge protector is bad or the power supply, i would plug the computer directly into the wall and see if that helps, if not it could be your PSU
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

How do I fix my power supply, if that's what it is?
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

I've never seen or used a power supply (well, my computer has, but not me personally)...where do I get one? What exactly does it do?
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 03:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

First I would open your case, unplug all the wires that go from your PSU (power supply) to your drives and mobo.

Then you look on the back of your computer, there should be 4 screws holding your psu in place. Unscrew them and pull the psu out from the inside of your computer.

Now, the important part, since you say your HP is old, how old is it? If it's real old you could have an old AT type connector for your mobo. There should be a sticker saying if it's AT or ATX. Then you go get a powersupply. They are all the same size (unless your pulling it from a micro case, if that was the case your tower would be real small).

Just pick up a 300w one. They are cheap and you can use it later if need be.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

It's a 3 year old HP Pavilion 8390, just for the record.

And I don't understand what you mean by unplugging the wires that go from the PSU to my drives and mobo. I am assuming that a mobo is a motherboard, hehe.

I am an extremely fast learner, but I've never had hardware experience, so I simply know very little about this stuff.
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

You'll have a bunch of wires that come out of your power supply. One will go to your hard drive, one to your floppy drive, one to your cdrom and one to your mobo (yes, motherboard). Unplug all of them. Then unscrew the 4 screws and take out the PSU.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 04:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

did you try plugging it in directly to a wall outlet instead of the surge protector like he asked you?

if his computer is 3 years old its most likely an ATX power supply. if you're not sure whether it is a micro or regular size power supply just bring it to the computer store and the tech will be happy to find you a replacement.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.