unlock cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default unlock cpu

well in my manual for the mobo, it says i can access the cpu ratio if i have an unlocked cpu, what does this mean, i can see it so my cpu must be locked, can i unlock it, its a 2.8 northwood, on a asus p4p800se
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you cannot unlock a CPU's multiplier
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

bugger, does this mean i cant set up a memory divider, cos ive come to the conclusion the the memory is limiting my OCing, cos i can oc more as its still low temp
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can still set up a memory divider if your motherboard has one. it is not dependant on the CPU's multiplier.

the multiplier just takes the FSB/HTT and multiplies it to get the core speed of the CPU.
for example a 200HTT and 10 multiplier gives you a 2000MHZ core speed.
a locked multipier only affects the multiplier itself, not the HTT. it just means you cannot, for example, keep the HTT at 200 and up the multiplier to 13 to get a 2600MHZ core.
you can increase your HTT to 260MHZ to get the same core speed though.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 05:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

apokalipse has summed it up. on some older cpu's in particular AMD's duron the multiplier could be unlocked with a physical modification to the processor. now days though the only cpu's with unlocked multipliers are the Athlon FX series which will cost $1k+
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.