uncool ram .. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2004, 02:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 50
Default uncool ram ..

i have 2 chips of the following ram installed in my system


got them through newegg too last year .. however i recently ran a diagnostic program that one of the members on the forum had pasted a link to in some topic .. its aida 32 worldwide sysinfo tool verion 3.75 and according to it, my memory speed shows its as a pc2700 (DDR 333 166Mhz) ram whereas i made the purchase for a pc3200 (DDR400 200Mhz) ... i tried looking into bios and other windows settings but can't figure out how to get that darn pc3200 thingy to be enabled ..

either i don't know how to get around to making it work or i got ripped off .. :-/

i am running an amd athlon xp 2500+ barton on an asus a7n8x-deluxe mobo .. suggestions, tips, pity anyone ?

tufreeh is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 04:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 50

ok tried using sandra too ... reports the same result as the previous benchmark did .. a pc2700 running at 334 Mhz and bus speed 167 mhz ..

now how do i actually get it up2 pc3200 @ 400 mhz / 200 mhz .. if that is what newegg intended to send me ..

tufreeh is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 07:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694

What are your FSB and multiplier numbers? (166*11 ?)

i may be wrong, but if your FSB speed on your processor is set at 166MHz then you would only realize 333MHz form your RAM (PC2700).

go into your BIOS and set the FSB speed to 200MHz and reduce the multiplier to 9. This should get your RAM to run at 400MHz. then, if you want to, you can increase the multiplier (9 to 9.5 to 10 to 10.5...) to see where your Processsor tops out at. this will mean that you're overclocking the processor. Hope that helps.
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2

^ What Hercules says. I'm getting pretty much the same setup as you when running at stock speeds, (166 / 333mhz) the ram shows up as PC2700, because, well, it runs at PC2700 speeds. PC3200 (200/400mhz) is the "top-speed" withing "safe" factory-determinded stability margins of the ram stick.

I get the same kind of result when I overclock my 2500+ at 3200+ speeds, it then shows up as a 3200+. The computer doesn't seem to detect the "real" name/stock speed of the component, it only names them according to their current running speeds.

EDIT: depending on your BIOS, you may have to switch the FSB and the memory speed to 200mhz to get full potential. On my A7N8X-E deluxe, if I only change the FSB, the Ram keeps its 166mhz speed.
jeece is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 10:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 49

you have a Barton chip wich is 333FSB.... so thats the bottlneck of your system! in other words your system will run at 333 until you updrage to a 400FSB chip (AMD3200+)
- Intel 2.8E @ 3.36GHz
- Asus P4P800-E DLX
- 4X512MB (2Gig) Crucial PC3200
- ATI 9600 All-In-Wonder
- RAID card for extra IDE channels
- 120G Western Digital SATA for Windows
- 120G IDE Western Digital Hard Drive
- 80G IDE Maxtor Hard Drive
- Pioneer 107D DVD burner
- Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
- Logitech Z680 speakers
- Thermaltake Xavier II Full Tower
- Thermaltake PurePower 480W ps
- Logitech MX Duo combo wireless keyboard/mouse
- Sharp 17\" LCD monitor
c_ro11 is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02

unless you up the fsb to 400

Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.