un splitting a harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2005, 02:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default un splitting a harddrive

hey guys i have 1 harddrive thats split into to a drive C and a drive D the c is normal one like always and the D is backup is there a way 2 combine the d into c so it can just be 1 full 200 gb harddrive instaed of to 100 gb please respond asap ty!!
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

you must have a program that can alter partitions in windows or you must boot off of your windows XP disc, delete both partitions, create 1 partition, then re-install windows.
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

i have a xp cd how do i like go 2 the patritions thing..
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

go to bios, set the first boot device to cd-rom

then when you exit and save your comp will restart. watch for it to say "boot from cd..." or something, then press enter.

it will go to a blue screen and start loading windows.

after a while it will say something... press enter, then when it says a whole page of something else... press f8.

on the next screen press the escape key.

from there you can follow the directions in deleting and creating the partitions.


(WARNING!!! you will loose everything on the hard drive WARNING!!!)
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

ahhh. i dont think he needs do all that

i think he can just go to /control pannel/administrative tools/comp manager/diskmanager.... select the second partition (aka D:drive) delete it, then right click or something on the first partition (aka C:drive) and expand that volume to use up the rest of the Disk making C: = the 200gb's.

that way he will only loos information on the D partition, and he doesnt need to format C partition at all. if he has any info on D that he wonts, he could just copy it over to C befor doing this aswell
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 03:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
/control pannel/administrative tools/comp manager/diskmanager....
that might work also.

(IMO: I have never done it that way b4, it looks a bit risky though.)
__________________

Seria is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.