ultra ata card pci 133 or pci 100? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2004, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default ultra ata card pci 133 or pci 100?

I have a 160 gb wd hd and an 80 gb wd hd. I was told that i would be better off (would be faster) connecting them through a pci card to my motherboard. I also want to connect an extra cdrw (i have a dvd +- burner and a dvd rom), and need the extra connection so it makes sense to me. I am unsure what type I need the pci 133 or pci100, as i do not know if the pci 100 supports hd that are bigger than 137gb? someone please help!
__________________

sergiofar is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

100 and 133 are interface type. 133 is 133MB/sec which is faster. the operating system and filing system is what determines what size volumes are supported.

you do not need to get a PCI card if you already have IDE controllers on the mobo. it will not make your system faster. i don't understand why they would tell you this.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you don't have enough IDE ports, you will need another PCI card, and getting an ATA133 card will be backward compatible with ATA100, so you shouldn't have any probs with it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 08:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
if you don't have enough IDE ports, you will need another PCI card, and getting an ATA133 card will be backward compatible with ATA100, so you shouldn't have any probs with it
Corect me if im wrong, do you mean that i can add an addtional HDD or a CDrom by simply buying an additional IDE PCI Card? I havent thought this is possible since i really want to add a CDrom and a HDD on my system. so what would it be, if i have one PCI card plus the existing IDE controller from the MOBO, i can have a 3 primary drive and 3 secondary drive (whic of course you can add more through partitioning) on a single PC?
__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default

Thx for all the help, I finally got it to work and i set it up the way i had intended in the first place. Needed to make sure computer booted up in the right sequence (hard drive connected to ata card and not look for it on ide on mobo). Replying to your question "Press_F1" yes. I
AMD 2500+ barton
ECS l7s7a2 mobo
Promise ultra ata pci 100 tx2
80 gig hd wd (set to master on pci card)
160 gig hd wd (set to slave on pci card)
chaintech gefroce fx 5200
Sony drua510a +-
dvd rom
cdrw
2x512 mb of geil golden dragon ddr 400

If any one can tell me if i need to change anything it would be much appreciated.
sergiofar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.