The Ultimate Gaming Machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2003, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
Default The Ultimate Gaming Machine

Asus A7N8X Deluxe
ATi Radeon 9800XT
Kingston HyperX 1GB(2x512MB) DDR400/PC3200
Dual Processing AMD Athlon 64+Athlon 64FX
Creative Labs SoundBlaster Audigy ZS or ZS Plat, or ZS Plat Pro

What do ya'll think about that as a gaming rig? Not that I'm gonna go with that...

I was however considering dual processing. I'd already had my mind set on an AMD Athlon 2600+ Barton, if I were to dual, what do I need to know? thanks!
__________________

__________________
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Maxtor 80GB/7200RPM/8MBCache/ATA-150 SATA
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Barton
Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200/DDR400
ATi Radeon 9800Pro 128MB
Cosmic~Fury is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 106
Default

PIII 700MHz
128MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce2 Ti

That's the ultimate gaming machine!
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/remark,3863142~mode=flat\">Join Broadbandreports.com SETI@Home team Starfire!</a>
bryguy2323 is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

[sarcasm]No, this one owns them all:

Intel 8088, 4 MHz
640K RAM
ATI Radeon 9800 XT 256 MB w/ AGP converter

^ FAST SYSTEM [/sarcasm]

Quote:
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Uhh... the A7N8X Deluxe cannot support Athlon 64/64 FX processors (different architecture + form factor). The K8V (VIA) / K8N (Athlon 64) or SK8V (VIA) / SK8N (nForce3 Pro-150 - Athlon 64 FX) might be one of the optimal choices for a single 64-bit CPU.

If you're seriously looking for a motherboard w/ support for Dual Athlon XP/MP processors, look for one based on the AMD 760MPX chipset.

Unfortunately, if you want to go with the Athlon XP 2600+ Barton w/ 333 MHz FSB, the 760MPX only has support for the 266 MHz FSB variant (based on TBred-B).

Your call on this one (single vs. dual vs. hyperthreading).
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Little note for Dual Athlon systems:

The AMD 760MPX only supports Athlon MP processors.

Athlon XPs are SMP capable, but not officially supported on the 760MPX. You may need to perform the mod trick to turn it into an Athlon MP.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 46
Default

My next system will defenitly be athlon64, not sure about FX cause the'll probably be expansive.
Still, in 32bit mode it still beats the P4 now, except for Extreme Edition but those will be extremely expensive too.
Dual amd 64 bit means Opteron and those are first of all not for desktop use so you won't find mobo's for it with AGP and second they are extremely expensive.

Single atlon64 will do the job, you could better spend some money on a Western Digital Raptor 10000 RPM Harddrive

volkanb is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

If you dont mind only having 36 gigs of space
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 04:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 46
Default

The 73 gig is also out, but the 10k drive you should use for your OS as this will make the overall performance of your computer better and therefore your games to. rest of data you can put on a second HD.
volkanb is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 11:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

How much is the 73 gig going for?
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 39
Default

Really if you think about it, there will never be an ultimate gaming machine, with upgrades coming out every second.
Whats top dog now will be under dog tomorrow!
SLAYERMAN is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ThirtySixBelow
How much is the 73 gig going for?
there are 181.6GB SCSI HDDs out now, they are pretty stinkin fast they are a bargan at $740 on pricewatch and the 73.4GB SCSI HDDs @ 10k rpm are only $170

so in answer to your question: $170
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.