Uber-confusing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Uber-confusing

I can't understand what's going on here. In BIOS, I have the following readings:

VCORE Voltage..................1.72V
+3.3V Voltage...................3.31V
+5V Voltage......................4.99V
+12V Voltage....................12.60V

CPU-Z also reads the voltage to the CPU as 1.728V. Alright no problems so far, but in BIOS under the "Advanced Chipset Features" menu, CPU VCORE is set (manually by me) to 1.65V. Why is the voltage set to 1.65V yet reading as 1.72V? Isn't that making the CPU run hotter than it has to, because I think that my CPU (see sig) has a default voltage of 1.65V? Any help here?
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

possible bad BIOS reading (kinda sucks), or possibly your mobo is overvolting (not much of a problem)

Try this:

In BIOS set it to 1.575v...does the actual voltage reading change to ~1.65v? If it does it's a simple overvolting mobo, and you just have to take that into account when setting the voltage. overvolting is MUCH better than undervolting IMO, cuz you actually have a wider voltage range up top, stead of having to run 1.675v to get a measly 1.63v.

If it does not help, and still reads 1.72v...i would blame a bad voltage regulator or possibly a bad BIOS. Try flashing your BIOS and see if it helps, and see if anyone else has this problem with your perticualr mobo over at www.google.com
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

hey.. your computer is simmilar to mine. I think the PSU isn't perfectly accurate in sending the right current, or it might be the sensor thingies that are messed up. on mine it sais +12 voltage -- 11.70
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 03:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

there is a pluss or minus tolerance with these voltages , some will run higher while others run lower . it all depends , 11.7 isnt bad for your 12 volt , mine says 11.9 but my old mobo read 11.7 as well.
__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

mines doing like 12.04 and 12.10 on the +12v, 5.05 on the +5v and like 3.38 on the +3.3v

You can always expect fluctuation but once it starts getting to about 5% and beyond you should look into a newer better PSU
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I tried setting my voltage to 1.575V, but the lowest mine goes is 1.65V. I don't know why it won't let me go any lower.

Also, is it bad for the rails to be higher than they are rated? I understand that if you are getting 11.5V instead of 12V, that is considerably lower. However, is it bad to be too high as well?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Generally means bad readings, bad power fluctuation, things along those lines. Mine reads like 12.10 but it's not really a problem. If it was showing like 13 it's either a bad reading, over volting, power spike, something like that
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.