Uber Bad Music Quality - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default Uber Bad Music Quality

Hey hey folks i have yet another problem. I have recently solved my graphics troubles by updating my Nforce Drivers and Updating to the latest Forceware drivers for my graphics card. Thing is that now whenever i play Music on my Pc the quality is highly ****e. Sounds in games, etc sound fine, better than before even but music has a crackly distroted effect that ir highly annoying. I just want to know if there is any way to fix it other than rolling back to my old Sound Drivers, if i do this my Graphics Card problem may re-occur

My specs are;

Amd XP 2.8ghz CPU
1024mb of Ram
256mb Fx5700 LE

My Drivers are;
Forceware 61.77
Nforce 5.10

Will rolling back my drivers make my old graphics problem re-occur or is there any way of fixing my sound?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Do you have onboard sound by chance? If so, there's a good chance that's why your sound is crackling. Onboard sound can be shakey at times. I've noticed sound skipping in a game before, stuff like that with onboard sound. You can't roll back your sound drivers without disturbing the video drivers or something?
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

u said sounds in games are fine, but music isnt? are u talking about music in games? or are u talking about just music files? if your just talking about music files, what program do u use to play them?
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

my onboard sound isnt so bad......... try dling new sound drivers
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I had onboard sound for a while, and yea, it did crackle. It drove me crazy. Haven't had that problem since I got my Audigy 2.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 03:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Games and sound fine. Windows noises sound fine. Its only Music tracks out of games that crackle. I've used various different playing devices as well.

Any ideas?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 07:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I believe it IS your integrated sound card. Try updating to the latest drivers. If that doesn't work, Sound Blaster Live 5.1s are pretty cheap these days.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 09:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

No, i haven't got Onboard sound. I've updated my sound drivers as well. The audio driver is included with the nForce chipset. Any other suggestions?

P.S My sound USED to be fine! Why the bloody hell does this happen when i happen to get my graphics card fixed.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

so u mean... if u put in an audio cd, or just play and audio file, it will sound fine? but only music ingames crackle?

is it only with sertain games or does this happen with all games?

if its a particular game, did u use the 'Minimal' install option, or the 'Maximum' install option. if u only installed the minimal requirements, then the audio is most likely running off your CD, witch could be scratched or what not.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

loool. People are soooo not getting this.

Games sound fine (Music and Effects)
Windows Sounds Fine (Music and Effects)

MUSIC (CD's, downloaded songs, etc) suck balls......
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.