two monitors or one? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2011, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default two monitors or one?

was debating between two 23" ACER monitors for 150$ a piece, or one 27" PLANAR monitor for 260?

what should i get? two ACERs are nice, but i've also heard that my video card (RADEON HD 5850) doesn't support dual screen to well.... even so, more monitor for the buck or more of single screen per buck?
__________________

flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 10:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: two monitors or one?

Where the heck did you hear that? I'm running dual 20" on a HD5770. The latest video cards, since they made dual outputs, ran 2 screens fine.

It all depends upon what you are using it for. If you are a gamer, it is nice to have that extra screen to keep upon your messenger or game shortcuts you can't remember. Also if you code, it is nice to have that extra space to look up code.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 11:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default Re: two monitors or one?

i just looked up some old forum posts from two years ago about the 5850 dual display Flicker Bug. they have found a solution, but i have no idea what they are talking about or how they do it. and because this was a recurring error two years ago, i'm not quite sure if AMD/gigabyte/MSI etc. have found a solution to the problem.

So im just wondering if i should still get the dual monitor display even if the bug isn't fixed yet. yes i am a gamer.
flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 11:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: two monitors or one?

That was 2 years ago. Certainly they have it fixed by now. Get the dual screens.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitors. Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-23-2009 07:54 AM
LG monitors vs Samsung monitors OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-04-2007 07:44 PM
LCD monitors jjrodezno Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 03-09-2007 11:11 PM
Monitors sCribes PC Gaming 5 03-20-2005 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.