Two Hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2004, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default Two Hard drives

I want to hook two hard drives up, one 160gb the other 200gb, what PCI card type do I need? Can someone help me out with that?

Thanks, J.
__________________

J20 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

two hard drives do not require a pci card. If they are ide drives your mobo should have more than enough ide ports and same with sata. If they are scsi drives you will need a scsi pci card in which can have 16 devices on the same card.
if they are ide set one as master and one as slave, but if you dont have enough ide ports you can get a ide card which you want and if thats the case i'll get one from newegg for ya.
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Well actually I'm gone have 3 hard drives the master the slave and another one. So XT does that mean I still need a scsi psi card?
J20 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Depends on the connection.
I am assuming they are ide because they have such high capacity so no. a scsi controler would not do anything for you.
If you do not have enough ide ports on the computer for 3 hard drives well you will need to buy one.
search for them on newegg.com
XT is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

J20, what else do you have on your computer? Most mobo's now have two spots for IDE cables to connect to the mobo, and then come with two IDE cables that support 2 devices. If you've only got 3 hard drives, and some optical drive (DVD or CD), then you shouldn't need anything.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you dont even know what SCSI is you must be using IDE or SATA. J20 here is what you want:

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...n=&Order=votes
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default

hilowe, I have a Dvd buner, CD writer, floppy drive and a zip drive on it. I'm gone take the Cd writer out and get another Dvd burner thou.

Ek, I don' know what SCSI is so I guess I am using ide or sata. So does will this produce allow me to add another 200gb hard drive?
J20 is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 153
Default

If ur final setup is gonna be 2 dvd burners and 3 hard drives and u only got 2 IDE slots then ur gonna have to go with a PCI IDE controller card bub
darthparth is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 10:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default

So, darth do you have any ideas on where I could get that item?
J20 is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 10:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Darth would a Promise Ultra 66 IDE Controller Card PCI be what i need?
__________________

J20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.