Two different AMD 64-bit processors?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default Two different AMD 64-bit processors?!?

i've been browsing the forums and saw that some people have athlon 64-bit processors that use a 900 something socket but mine only uses socket 754! i paid $333 for a new motherboard and 64-bit processor and i thought that was the best i could get! is the other socket 900 something processor better? if so, how much better and why?
__________________

bobafett573 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I'm sorry to say but is a little bit better, your system isn't going to be suported in the future for much longer.. They are moving over to 939 pin and the new winchester core which runs cooler and about 5-10% faster at the same clock speeds as the socket 754 and other core's. You still have a very fast and dependable system. I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

lazerman is right on the dot. the only difference is that the 939s have the feature to use the ram in dual channel. besides that... future proof. thats it. pin count has very little to no effect on performance.
ChipX is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

Its still upgradable but after 05 it wont be availible any longer..just like the XP but you still see people use those ^^
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

socket 754, 939 and 940 are the 3 sockets of AMD's K8 processors

socket 754 holds Sempron's and Athlon 64's (socket A also holds Sempron's)
Sempron 3100+
Athlon 64 2800+
Athlon 64 3000+ clawhammer
Athlon 64 3200+ clawhammer
Athlon 64 3400+
Athlon 64 3700+

socket 939 holds these
Athlon 64 3000+ winchester
Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Athlon 64 3500+
Athlon 64 3800+
Athlon 64 FX-53
Athlon 64 FX-55

socket 940 holds all Opteron processors, the Athlon 64 FX-51's and some Athlon 64 FX-53's

socket 754 and socket 940 have a 1.6GHZ FSB
socket 754 doesn't support dual channel
socket 940 requires ECC RAM

socket 939 has a 2GHZ FSB, and any DDR module can be used, even in dual channel
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 03:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

are you saying that the socket 754 can't use DDR RAM or that it can't dual-channel information (like hyperthreading)? i use DDR RAM but i'm not sure i understand this dual channel thing. dual channel processors are only good for multitasking, aren't they? i mean, gaming would really be affected that much, would it?
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 04:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Bob, you're not understanding what everyone else is saying her. Dual channel is where the total bandwith is doubled. So, If I'm running PC3200 in dual channel, then the bandwith is actually 6.4 instead of 3.2. Secondly, no AMD processor has hyper-threading. What you are referring to is the HyperTransport link and that is a high-speed I/O link connecting the processor to the motherboard and it reduces access times by a lot. As far as gaming gooes, the lack of dual channel will only result in a loss of 3-4 frames per second. You need to understand though, that 754 processors are rated 200 MHz higher than their 939 brothers so it is relatively the same performance despite the lack of dual channel and the 2 GHz HTT.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 04:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

"...socket 939 has a 2GHZ FSB..."

apokalipse, the LDT Bus is rated at 800 Mhz (1.6 Ghz) on all K8 platforms.
ag3 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 05:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
They are moving over to 939 pin and the new winchester core which runs cooler and about 5-10% faster
I didn't know the socket 939's ran cooler than 745, how much cooler do they run about, comparing idle temps.
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.