TV Tuner Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2005, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default TV Tuner Card?

Well i was recently impressed by a show model i saw of the Windows XP Media Center Edition, however to get that, you have to buy a whole new system, so instead im planning on getting an ATI Pro TV tuner card to install to my system.
With that i plan to hook it up to my 32in LCD TV. Everywhere i read about TV tuner cards it talked about watching tv on your pc, however im really trying to go the other way. Have my windows programs on my TV.
I know its possible and all, im just wondering how will it look?
In the Windows XP M.C.E. they tv had actual XP windows oni it. Where one was minimized to have the tv playing, the other had Internet Explorer opened, and in the backround, was the XP backround. With a tv tuner card will it essential work the same way?
Im not try to have duel monitors per say. I would just like to have my tv display everything it does on my normal monitor, however on my tv. Aswell if i so feel to, i can go to my desktop and view the same thing. Im just wondering if it will be something like a duel screen or not, becuase with a duel screen your desktop just gets stretched between two monitor, however what im looking for is the same thing being displayed both my tv, and my monitor (desktop, with windows...etc)

Thanks in advance,

mikey_4644 is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261

You don't need a TV card to do it. Just a video card with a TV out.

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26

Well i have a ATI 9800 Pro, however with that all it does is make a duel monitor (stretch the screen), i dont want to do that.
To put it in a different way, i want to my tv both display tv channels aswell as windows applications. I want to do the exact same the Windows XP media Center Edition does, without purchasing a new computer.
mikey_4644 is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

look through the software that came with the card. i have a mega cheap gigabyte 6200TC as you may have noticed in my sig but the included nVIDIA software lets you change how the dual displays are set. you can have it stretched as you say or can set it to display a clone of your monitors display. like woot6600GT said it is not necessary to have a tuner for this.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.