TV Quality Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2016, 04:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: England
Posts: 3
Exclamation TV Quality Issues

Hi, I have a Samsung TV and when I set it up with my HDMI, the quality is awful. I don't know why it does this because when I set my Xbox up to it, the quality is amazing. I've checked all of the settings in the computer, but nope. Can some one please help me? The model is a t27d390s.
__________________

oCourageMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: England
Posts: 3
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

I fixed it. I had to rename the input HDMI to PC
__________________

oCourageMods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

So, renaming the input fixed the quality of the picture? I've never heard of that. Typically, if your resolution isn't set correctly it will look like garbage. The resolution would be set from the pc, though. Either way, as long as it's working now!
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,018
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
So, renaming the input fixed the quality of the picture? I've never heard of that. Typically, if your resolution isn't set correctly it will look like garbage. The resolution would be set from the pc, though. Either way, as long as it's working now!
Samsung screens have that as a hidden feature. Setting to DVI, PC, or DVI-PC removes all image processing. It's what I have to do to my 4k TV to get rid of all latency.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 07:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Samsung screens have that as a hidden feature. Setting to DVI, PC, or DVI-PC removes all image processing. It's what I have to do to my 4k TV to get rid of all latency.
Ah, okay. I didn't realize that renaming it would turn the processing off like that. It's been awhile since I've done any setups with televisions. Thanks for the info!
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 07:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,018
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
Ah, okay. I didn't realize that renaming it would turn the processing off like that. It's been awhile since I've done any setups with televisions. Thanks for the info!
It doesn't always work, and it's not necessarily renaming it you're reclassifying it. Hard to explain without showing it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 07:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
It doesn't always work, and it's not necessarily renaming it you're reclassifying it. Hard to explain without showing it.
No, I get what you're saying. I'm actually reading up on it as we speak. Good information to know for certain. Hell, I may just grab a tv instead of a monitor for my rig. Probably be cheaper that way. If I grab the right tv it looks like.
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 07:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,018
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
No, I get what you're saying. I'm actually reading up on it as we speak. Good information to know for certain. Hell, I may just grab a tv instead of a monitor for my rig. Probably be cheaper that way. If I grab the right tv it looks like.
The reason I went TVs, better options for curved, and cheaper large options. One good example:
https://www.amazon.com/VIZIO-D40u-D1...words=4k+120hz

4k native 120hz and 40" plus the added benefits of the TV part (multiple inputs for consoles or whatever) for less than $400. We have no 4k panels that are 120hz for PC or gaming monitors above 28".
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 08:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The reason I went TVs, better options for curved, and cheaper large options. One good example:
https://www.amazon.com/VIZIO-D40u-D1...words=4k+120hz

4k native 120hz and 40" plus the added benefits of the TV part (multiple inputs for consoles or whatever) for less than $400. We have no 4k panels that are 120hz for PC or gaming monitors above 28".
One thing I've never actually looked at here, what is the response time on something like this? Or is that not what I should be looking for on a tv?
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 08:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,018
Default Re: TV Quality Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
One thing I've never actually looked at here, what is the response time on something like this? Or is that not what I should be looking for on a tv?
Depends entirely on the TV and the panel that's used.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive problems - boot issues, waking issues NightJack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-27-2011 08:53 PM
Battlefield 2/gamespy ID issues, and mic issues. Help! Chad711 PC Gaming 14 09-07-2009 02:19 PM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 11:59 AM
Virus --> Sound Issues --> Reformat --> Still Sound Issues craw4d42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-09-2007 04:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.