Tv to PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 02:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 39
Default Tv to PC

I have the GeForce 5900 pcx video card. I was wondering if someone could advise me in detail how to hook this up and make it work with my tv. This is a new system build. I have not had the computer connected to a monitor, and this would be the first time I fire it up. Is it possible to use my tv for this purpose? Thanks.
__________________

mtslegacy is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah. That card should have an S-Video out port. It's round in the back of the card. You need an S-video cable and your TV has to be somewhat new and have a corresponding S-Video port in the back or wherever the other RCA and coaxial cable connections are. You'll then have to go into your desktop properties and go to the settings tab. From there you'll want to go into the ADVANCED SETTINGS by clicking that button in the bottom right. In there should be a tab that says Monitor or Monitors. In there should be where you need to adjust what gets displayed through your card.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 39
Default

I have the cable that came with the card. It has the round connector on one end and a small box with 4 different connections to it, two of which are colored yellow and I believe white (i don't have it in front of me now). The other two are round connector somewhat like the connection at the video card. Thanks again.
mtslegacy is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "ALL-IN-WONDER PRO..."

Keep in mind that if your TV is too old, and dosn't have an S-Video conection, you can always ask for a "Composite-To-S-Video Converter".
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 04:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

it sounds like his s-video cable splits out into RCA cables which is actually pretty damn handy and a nice feature. With that you can simply plug in the video using the yellow one but you'd have to check with your card manual to verify that. The other colors, well are they white and red? If so that would lead me to suspect left and right audio channels, but I didn't think you could get sound out through that unless you had an all-in-one card or something.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.