TV Out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2004, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default TV Out

What is TV Out on a Video Card? Does that mean you can use your TV as a computer screen. If so, what cable would you need to do it?
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Default

Yes it is. You can view it on a tv, but it it comes out (i think this is what it is called) as an s-video cord. It might not be called that but only newer tvs support it. If you go into radio shack you can find a s-video to red/white/yellow cord convertor.
sorry about not knowing the real names of the cords
__________________

antirem is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

It's called an 'S-Video to Composite' adapter.
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Lol, my TV is so old it doesnt even have audio/video rca cables. If I wanted to use it as a monitor I would have to run an S-video to composite adapter, then a rf modulator (composite to coax).
__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

The TV is not meant to be used in place of a monitor. The resolution is different. You will not be able to read anything off a tube TV unless the font was big. Mostly TV output on a video card was meant for presentations like powerpoint, slideshows, graphs, that sort of stuff. Another use for it is playing movies from your computer. It's pretty crappy though compared to a home DVD player
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 12:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i know what u mean, my grandma's TV is like that. i think u can just strip the end of some old composit cordes and just screw them into the rf modulator.

Quote:
It's pretty crappy though compared to a home DVD player
why u say that? id say its better then a stand alone dvd player, cause u have more options and controle over the vid output.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

You CAN connect your TV to your card, however, the image quality will be quite poor.

An s-video cable should do the trick if that's what your looking for though

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 02:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
why u say that? id say its better then a stand alone dvd player, cause u have more options and controle over the vid output.
It might be the TV & stand alone player you are comparing the quality on. I've got a Sony TV & DVD player that show details very well. I've used both an ATI & Nvidia 5600 vivo card to output video from my computer and they both suck compared to my DVP-NS715P stand alone player. To me the image quality difference is very noticable
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 07:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I run dual display often, full screen movies on my TV while I do other tasks on my LCD monitor. When the text show on the TV when I'm not running it full screen video, the text is always blurry and out of focus. Mine is an S-video to RCA cable connecting the comp and the TV.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 08:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

You need s-video and composite cable if u don't have s-video port in ur pc...

composite : cables that it's colour yellow.

I hope i helped you
__________________

Mariam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.