TV/Monitor Resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2009, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default TV/Monitor Resolution

Setup: Dell 19" (non wide screen) connected to 8800GT using DVI
Sharp 32" TV connected to the same card using a VGA cable and a DVI-VGA adapter on the video card.

Resolution I use on the 19": 1280x1024


The issue is the resolution on the TV... I don't have good options available.
The highest resolution I have available that's the right size is 1024x768
After that I get 1280x720, 1280x768, and 1360x768, none of which look good.

Is there a way I can get a better resolution on my TV? Is this because of my video card, or is that just how it is?


Thanks
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

If you TV is 720p that is as good as you will get.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 01:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

And if I use my 1080p TV instead I'm guessing I can get something better?
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

Resolution really comes down to your TV. Video cards might be able to support higher resoltion. However at the end of the day, it all comes down you the display
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 02:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spit-wad View Post
And if I use my 1080p TV instead I'm guessing I can get something better?
A 1080p tv should net you a resolution around 1920 x 1080.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 02:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

Alright... yet another reason I should switch TV's with my mom :P


Gonna have to butter her up for this one...


Only reason she got a 32" 1080p Sharp and amazing inputs/contrast ratio/other things for $700 is because I worked at Circuit City, so I'm entitled to it, right? :P
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 03:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

I agree.

720 and 1080 refer to the vertical resolution that the tv is running at.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 03:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

Yeah I was aware of that, but I guess I just didn't connect the dots.

Thanks though.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 09:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: TV/Monitor Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
A 1080p tv should net you a resolution around 1920 x 1080.
That is not necessarily true. KC is right. I have seen 32" TV's that can only give 1680x1050 or lower Resolution. It is the native resolution for the HD Display. Some of the older models dont have the capabilities to display at the higher resolutions.

The best way is to check the Sharp Owners manual to find out what they say the native resolution is. That is going to be what it can run at. If it cant or doesnt look good, then there is something to discuss.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.