TV or Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2003, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default TV or Monitor

Considering the power of todays video cards, what is the difference between using a standard CRT monitor and a regular television with svideo input?

What, if any, level of resolution do you lose when going with a regular TV and what specs do you need to look at with a television that give you an idea of what video quality you will get?

I've been thinking about this for a little while and I'm not sure a regular television wouldn't provide the same level of performance that a standard CRT monitor provides..


Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card ( ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-29-2003, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
dethangel's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934

it depends on the max resolution of your tv and the scan of the input ie: 1080i 720p 540p (i think its 540) you want one that is progressive scan (p) not interlaced (i) unless you are looking at the higher resolution (1080) and i would also look to see wether it supports 1024 * 768 (thats what i run everything at) cuz most tvs will only support 640 *480, which i think looks crappy, but you could just shrink your icons on the desktop, but that wont help your games much that run @ 1024*768

dethangel is offline  
Old 08-29-2003, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman

I don't know about all that stuff when it comes to TV's, but I have a Panasonic 27" with the 3 line digital comb filter and a Geforce Ti4400 on my computer. I plugged it into my TV and it wasn't bad for games, but you couldn't read any text. Blurry. And my TV is a step below HDTV. I had to adjust my res to 800 x 600.
Lostman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.