Turning off hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2003, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default Turning off hardware

Does disconnecting hardware through system/hardware remove its power?

I was hoping to free up some watts to check out psu loading.
__________________

__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-26-2003, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

No. It just stops the OS from using it. You'll have to unplug it.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-26-2003, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

if you are haveing problems with power in your computer, why not purchase something a bit more powerful if you have the money?
if not lostman was right, you have to manuelly dissconnect them
__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

ok.

I wasn't sure could've saved some time.

I Will buy a psu when money allows. along with better memory, better graphics card, then games etc etc..#

Maybe Father Christmas looks in on this forum? ....If so Dear Santa I've been good this year and.. ........
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Try this out. http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.