turning a loptop--> a desktop??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2005, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default turning a loptop--> a desktop???

hey there guys,
I have a Fujitsu N3010 notebook with a broken LCD screen... after months of searching on EBay and other wed based computer stores... the cheapest replacement i've found has been 350$$$ uninstalled... (theyre selling for about 600 on E-bay "working like new")

question is... would it be possible to transfer the parts from the notebook into a desktop case??? it was having horrible overheating problems, largely due to poor design and ventilation for the P4... figured the ventilation from a desktop case, and a monster fan would allow it to run fine... anyone ever done a transfer like this or know where i can get information on doing one??? or if it's even possible???
__________________

rtard650 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 05:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123
Default

It depends largely on your graphics card. Generally the answer is no. Many laptops have their graphics card soldered onto the mobo. Either open it up and take a look or call up the company and ask.
__________________

the drizzle is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

i took it apart... and it is attached to the motherboard... it's a mobility radeon 9000... this make it impossible???
rtard650 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 05:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123
Default

i would say so.
the drizzle is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 05:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

If the laptop has any sort of VGA port, maybe this could be done. If not, it would depend on how the graphics card is hooked up to the internal monitor. Can you see the cables attaching the graphics card to where the laptop display used to be?

Issue with putting this in a desktop case would be the location of the ports, and cdrom bays. You'd either need to severely modify the case, or make one specifically designed to mount the insides of the ex-laptop. It would be interesting project. Potentially easy to damage hardware in the process though, so I'd be careful.

If you decide to go through with this, update us with pictures. Would be very interesting.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah like he said, it's completly possible but you need some modifacation.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 06:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

okay thanks for the feedback... i have a buddy that is great with case mods... i'll be in touch with him and post the pics if it is a success...
__________________

rtard650 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.