Turn that PC into a Supercomputer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2003, 08:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by g5orbust
This combination of processors occured a few months ago in the PS2. The addition of an integrated RF reciever for the DVD player also happened during this very minor update.
Theres a significant difference into the technology being put into the PS3 and what was put in the PS2 bro.
__________________

Makaveli_786 is offline  
Old 10-18-2003, 08:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 300
Default

**** my 1.4 overheats as it is, you'd have to go to antartica and get a wind tunnel to keep this baby cool, and as ekÆsine said its all just giggles and gossip
__________________

__________________
*PyRo* is offline  
Old 10-18-2003, 08:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by *PyRo*
**** my 1.4 overheats as it is, you'd have to go to antartica and get a wind tunnel to keep this baby cool, and as ekÆsine said its all just giggles and gossip
LOL, Bro people behind hundred billion dollar companies dont want to taint the companies reputation with petty lies... the microchips are basically a bunch of chips built into one board and they are made a lot more effectively which means they will give off nowhere as much heat... god knows maybe no heat at all... you cant give a 1400 HP engine to a car that doesnt have wheels... theyr bringing everything up to par.
Makaveli_786 is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 06:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Makaveli_786 i still don't beleive it. Intel and AMD are pc processor makers, that's all they do. you are telling me that Sony, Toshiba and IBM, who of coarse are all well known makers of PC processors , are leaving intel and AMD in the dust?

i saw an episode on X-files where the computer nerds steal a teraflop CPU and put it into their laptop... i didn't beleive that. so Makaveli_786 if you somehow manage to get a hold of a computer built by magical nano robots that can run at these impossible speeds I would beleive you

seriously i don't beleive the stuff that they put into science fiction magazines. i think i saw nano technology like 5 years ago in popular mechanics. they claim all sorts of things and thats all it is.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 07:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

Ummm...i heard they scrapped the cell idea for the PS3, because the idea had problems with debugging for all the linked processors or something
__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 07:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli_786
LOL, Bro people behind hundred billion dollar companies dont want to taint the companies reputation with petty lies...

*cough* ENRON *cough* WorldCom *cough* Martha Stewart *cough*


Just because it's not wise to do, doesn't mean it isn't done.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i skipped all the replys because there was no pics but i just wanted to say.
how much, how much better and
i want to see some pictures!
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

how can you see pictures of something that doesn't exist? but maybe they have some diagrams for you to look at
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 51
Default

I would hope that for $25,000 they at least include nitro cooling....
__________________

ultimadesigns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.