Is this true? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 03:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Is this true?

lol...i gotta convince dad to return my ram first (pretty easy, but i need a reason, any reason)

if i have memtest errors, does this mean i will be writing corrupted files to my hdd?

maybe?



ty
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

no, what is he into and I can probably think of a good analogy

The simple reason is:

It's no functioning like it's supposed to. It will cause system instabilities resulting in freezes, crashes, or even quite possible (dad) a corrupted HDD and you don't want me griping days on end about reinstalling windows would you? I didn't think so
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 04:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

LoL jesus nubius

I heard ure from the high desert. Where in souther Cali are u from. My buddy lives in Yucca Valley i was just down there a few months ago.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Apple valley, california.

Crappy little tweaker infested town.

Theres three cities that all share a border, this one, hesperia (sublimes from there) and victorville, this is known as the high desert.

You might have heard of barstow, I'm about 30mins from there, and about 90 miles north of LA
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

And if he still thinks error's is a non issue, swap ram with him <-_->
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Apple valley, california.

Crappy little tweaker infested town.

Theres three cities that all share a border, this one, hesperia (sublimes from there) and victorville, this is known as the high desert.

You might have heard of barstow, I'm about 30mins from there, and about 90 miles north of LA
You were just outside of Barstow, in the desert, when the drugs started to take hold...
Him is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

just say *cartman voice* "but daaaaad"

just make something up that makes it seem a threat to the whole system. it always works with parents. like "well if it gets stressed too much then it could overheat and wipe out everything" lol. just make it seem a danger to the rest of the system. thats how i got my modstream.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Steve, I noticed that u had the

OCZ Platinum Series, 1GB (512 x 2). ("not" rev 2)

Do they overclock well? The people on newegg review page haven't really hit anything significant. Certainly not high enough for me to buy them. I am thinking around 250 FSB stable.
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 08:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Chank - they will OC, believe this guy 4W4K3 that used to frequent these forums had them and was running 235MHz on his socket A system. They definitely aren't champs like the rev 2 but they will OC.

Diablo - just say it could potentially start a fire burning down the whole house
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 08:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

heh

i'll try that friday
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.