is this true - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2008, 01:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default is this true

a friend and me had an argument a few mins ago, does soase need 4gb of memory for max settings to have the texture detail on high or will 2gbs suffice.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: is this true

I seriously doubt it, games use the videocard memory for textures and it helps higher resolutions. System memory keeps it running and the publiser's recommend systems specs is 1GB so doubling that is enough.

Tell your friend to find a 4GB videocard or let alone a 2GB one.
__________________

__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: is this true

ok, thanks....
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case and TRUE question carnageX New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-19-2008 07:24 PM
What makes you a TRUE COMPUTER GEEK? helix2301 Off Topic Discussion 30 01-29-2008 03:39 PM
Tuniq or True, which ones better? Chrysamere Overclocking and Modding 44 12-24-2007 06:34 PM
PS3's true enemy (not the 360 or wii). aaronkupen Sony Playstation 63 12-05-2007 05:57 PM
Yay, i am a true techieeee siddanth3 Off Topic Discussion 23 05-24-2007 08:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.